Malik, bowlers lead Chittagong to 78-run win

Chittagong Vikings 185 for 5 (Smith 69, Malik 63, Kamrul 2-29) beat Barisal Bulls 107 (Enamul 42*Nabi 3-16, Roy 2-16) by 78 runs

Mohammad Nabi led a solid bowling display by Chittagong Vikings, who bowled out Barisal Bulls for 107 to seal a 78-run win in their 2016-17 Bangladesh Premier League clash in Chittagong. This came after half-centuries from Dwayne Smith and Shoaib Malik powered Chittagong to 185 for 5 after they opted to make first use of the surface.

Nabi took out the Barisal openers in the second over of the chase, and when he dismissed Jeevan Mendis in his next over, Barisal were reeling at 12 for 4. It wouldn't be long before Nabi would be in the thick of things again as he plucked a catch at deep midwicket to send back Mushfiqur Rahim, who had added 25 for the fifth wicket with Rayad Emrit. That Barisal got to 107 was down to Enamul Haque's unbeaten 42 at No. 8. Enamul walked out with the score 37 for 6 - it would soon become 39 for 7 - and began a brief recovery through a 42-run eighth-wicket stand with Taijul Islam. That would make for scant compensation, however, as Barisal added 26 more for the last two wickets before folding in the 19th over. Enamul was left unbeaten on 42 off 37 balls. He had struck one four and four sixes.

Nabi finished with 3 for 16 in three overs and had support all around. Subashis Roy, who opened the bowling, and Taskin Ahmed were both economical and took two wickets each. Malik and Imran Khan, the left-arm medium pacer, took a wicket apiece.

When Chittagong batted, they enjoyed a solid start from Tamim Iqbal, the captain, and Smith who put on 43 in 5.4 overs for the first wicket. Tamim struck a run-a-ball 19 before falling to the right-arm medium pace of Kamrul Islam Rabbi. It was then the turn of Anamul Haque to play second fiddle to Smith in a 39-run second-wicket partnership. Malik joined Smith in the 11th over and Chittagong biffed 103 runs in 58 balls during his stay. Smith's burst was ended by Thisara Perera in the 16th over when he was caught at deep midwicket for a 49-ball 69 that contained six fours and three sixes. But Malik ensured a strong finish for Chittagong as they slammed 55 runs in the last four overs. Malik fell off the final ball of the innings for a 30-ball 63. He pinged nine fours and two sixes.

Kamrul took two wickets, as did Perera, although he leaked 37 runs in four overs. Emrit finished with 1 for 41 from his quota of overs.

Bulls 2nd innings Partnerships

5Nadif ChowdhuryDJ Malan
5Nadif ChowdhuryShahriar Nafees
1Shahriar NafeesMushfiqur Rahim
1BMAJ MendisMushfiqur Rahim
25RR EmritMushfiqur Rahim
0RR EmritNLTC Perera
2RR EmritEnamul Haque (2)
42Taijul IslamEnamul Haque (2)
13Abu HiderEnamul Haque (2)
13Kamrul Islam RabbiEnamul Haque (2)

Bangladesh Premier League