Nawaz, Afif and Sabbir consign Khulna to massive defeat

Sylhet Sixers recorded their fourth win of the tournament Raton Gomes/BCB

Sylhet Sixers 195 for 4 (Afif 49, Sabbir 44*) beat Khulna Titans 137 (Taylor 34, Nabil 3-20) by 55 runs

How the game played out

Local firepower helped Sylhet Sixers to a 55-run win over Khulna Titans. Liton Das, Afif Hossain and Sabbir Rahman struck quick runs to get them to 195-4 in 20 overs. Sixers made a solid start when Liton and Afif added 71 for the opening stand before Sabbir and Mohammad Nawaz provided a flourish in their 89-run unbroken fifth wicket stand.

Afif's 49 contained five fours and two sixes while Sabbir cracked four boundaries and two sixes in his unbeaten 29-ball 44. Sixers then bowled with much discipline too, particularly Nabil Samad who finished with 3-20 from his four overs.

Turning points

  • Sabbir Rahman and Mohammad Nawaz plundering 52 runs in the last three overs to give the Sixers a much-needed scoring spike

  • Jason Roy's amazing one-handed catch, running long-off and diving full length to his left, got rid of Brendan Taylor when he was looking dangerous.

Star of the day

Afif played some superb strokes during his 37-ball knock, timing the ball well through point and square-leg after starting his scoring with a six off Subashis Roy.

The big miss

Titans' bad day was summed up by the run out of Junaid Khan in the 18th over. After Nawaz had stopped the ball and kept looking at an injury in his fingers. When someone called out for him to throw the ball, Nawaz scored a direct hit with Junaid stranded outside the crease at the non-striker's end.

Where the teams stand

With eight points, Sixers crawled back up to fifth place displacing Rajshahi Kings. Titans however seem to be out of the tournament after their eighth defeat in 10 games.

Titans 2nd innings Partnerships

27BRM TaylorJunaid Siddique
37BRM TaylorAl-Amin
4BRM TaylorNajmul Hossain Shanto
14BRM TaylorMahmudullah
15MahmudullahAriful Haque
18D WieseAriful Haque
10Yasir ShahAriful Haque
0Ariful HaqueTaijul Islam
10Junaid KhanTaijul Islam
2Subashis RoyTaijul Islam

Bangladesh Premier League