Matches (18)
IND v SA (1)
PAK v ENG (1)
CPL (1)
WI-W v NZ-W (1)
Road Safety (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
Marsh Cup (1)
Legends League (1)
U19WC QLF (2)
4th Test, Leeds, July 24 - 28, 1997, Australia tour of England and Scotland
172 & 268

Australia won by an innings and 61 runs

Player Of The Match
7/37 & 2/65
England 1st Innings
Australia 1st Innings
England 2nd Innings
Match Details
England 1st Innings 
Mark Butcher c Blewett b Reiffel2457612042.10
Mike Atherton (c)c Gillespie b McGrath411432226028.67
Alec Stewart c Blewett b Gillespie724260029.16
Nasser Hussain c Taylor b McGrath2641584063.41
Dean Headley c SR Waugh b Gillespie2232482068.75
Graham Thorpe  b Gillespie1526293057.69
John Crawley c Blewett b Gillespie213230015.38
Mark Ealham not out 824420033.33
Robert Croft c Ponting b Gillespie68121075.00
Darren Gough  b Gillespie026000.00
Mike Smith  b Gillespie022000.00
Extras(b 4, lb 4, nb 12, w 1)21
TOTAL59.4 Ov (RR: 2.88, 269 Mts)172
Fall of wickets: 1-43 (Mark Butcher), 2-58 (Alec Stewart), 3-103 (Nasser Hussain), 4-138 (Dean Headley), 5-154 (Mike Atherton), 6-154 (Graham Thorpe), 7-163 (John Crawley), 8-172 (Robert Croft), 9-172 (Darren Gough), 10-172 (Mike Smith)
Glenn McGrath2256723.04---13
Paul Reiffel2044112.05---09
Jason Gillespie13.413772.70---02
Greg Blewett301705.66---00
Shane Warne10202.00---00
Australia 1st Innings 
Mark Taylor (c)c †Stewart b Gough01110000.00
Matthew Elliott  b Gough19935145026356.69
Greg Blewett c †Stewart b Gough18160012.50
Mark Waugh c & b Headley818301044.44
Steve Waugh c Crawley b Headley412150033.33
Ricky Ponting c Ealham b Gough12720226116162.87
Ian Healy  b Ealham3146586067.39
Shane Warne c Thorpe b Ealham053000.00
Paul Reiffel not out 54721095075.00
Jason Gillespie  b Gough318180016.66
Glenn McGrath not out 2030391066.66
Extras(b 9, lb 10, nb 35)54
TOTAL123 Ov (RR: 4.07, 509 Mts)501/9d
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Mark Taylor), 2-16 (Greg Blewett), 3-43 (Mark Waugh), 4-50 (Steve Waugh), 5-318 (Ricky Ponting), 6-382 (Ian Healy), 7-383 (Shane Warne), 8-444 (Matthew Elliott), 9-461 (Jason Gillespie)
Darren Gough36514954.13---08
Dean Headley25212525.00---012
Mike Smith2328903.86---07
Mark Ealham1935622.94---02
Robert Croft1814902.72---00
Mark Butcher201407.00---06
England 2nd Innings 
Mark Butcher c †Healy b McGrath19181830105.55
Mike Atherton (c)c Warne b McGrath213250015.38
Alec Stewart  b Reiffel1630413053.33
Nasser Hussain c Gillespie b Warne10518125014058.01
Graham Thorpe c ME Waugh b Gillespie1530401050.00
John Crawley  b Reiffel7221426310033.64
Mark Ealham c ME Waugh b Reiffel44767008.51
Dean Headley lbw b Reiffel317300017.64
Robert Croft c †Healy b Reiffel57161071.42
Darren Gough c ME Waugh b Gillespie012000.00
Mike Smith not out 44310100.00
Extras(b 6, lb 4, nb 13)23
TOTAL91.1 Ov (RR: 2.93, 382 Mts)268
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Mark Butcher), 2-28 (Mike Atherton), 3-57 (Alec Stewart), 4-89 (Graham Thorpe), 5-222 (Nasser Hussain), 6-252 (Mark Ealham), 7-256 (John Crawley), 8-263 (Dean Headley), 9-264 (Darren Gough), 10-268 (Robert Croft)
Glenn McGrath2258023.63---02
Paul Reiffel21.124952.31---08
Jason Gillespie2386522.82---02
Shane Warne2165312.52---02
Steve Waugh411102.75---01
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Headingley, Leeds
TossAustralia, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Jason Gillespie
Series resultAustralia led the 6-match series 2-1
Match numberTest no. 1373
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Mike Smith
Mike Smith
South Africa
Cyril Mitchley
Mervyn Kitchen
TV Umpire
Ray Julian
Match Referee
West Indies
Cammie Smith
Thu, 24 Jul - day 1 - England 1st innings 106/3 (Mike Atherton 34*, Dean Headley 0*, 36 ov)
Fri, 25 Jul - day 2 - Australia 1st innings 258/4 (Matthew Elliott 134*, Ricky Ponting 86*, 67 ov)
Sat, 26 Jul - day 3 - Australia 1st innings 373/5 (Matthew Elliott 164*, Ian Healy 27*, 95.2 ov)
Sun, 27 Jul - day 4 - England 2nd innings 212/4 (Nasser Hussain 101*, John Crawley 48*, 63 ov)
Mon, 28 Jul - day 5 - England 2nd innings 268 (91.1 ov) - end of match
  • Scorers: JT Potter (England) and MK Walsh (Australia)
  • 12th Men: AD McGrath (England) and MS Kasprowicz (Australia)
England Innings
<1 / 3>