Matches (17)
WTC (1)
SL v AFG (1)
UAE v WI (1)
SL-A v SA-A (1)
Vitality Blast (9)
Charlotte Edwards (4)
7th Match, Mirpur, January 25, 2022, Bangladesh Premier League
(17/20 ov, T:101) 101/3

Sunrisers won by 7 wickets (with 18 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
Cricinfo's MVP
69.47 ptsImpact List

Dhaka protest against umpiring in big loss to Sylhet

Nazmul Islam impresses with maiden four-for as Sylhet record first win

Mohammad Isam
Mohammad Isam
Andre Russell received a poor lbw decision at the BPL  •  BCB

Andre Russell received a poor lbw decision at the BPL  •  BCB

Sylhet Sunrisers 100 (Mahmudullah 33, Nazmul 4-18) beat Minister Group Dhaka 101 for 3 (Anamul 45, Mashrafe 2-21) by seven wickets
How the match played out
Sylhet Sunrisers opened their account in BPL 2022 with a seven-wicket win over Minister Group Dhaka. It was a clinical win, too. They skittled Dhaka for 100 in 18.4 overs and then knocked off the runs with three overs to spare.
Left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam took his maiden four-for in T20s to hasten the collapse. However, two of his four scalps were aided by poor lbw calls.
Mohammad Naim was given out despite getting a glove while attempting a reverse sweep, while Andre Russell was sent back despite getting an inside edge onto his front pad. Tamim Iqbal, too, seemed unsatisfied with his lbw decision; the ball having appeared to have struck him even though he was well forward.
Dhaka went up in a protest as Mahmudullah was seen talking to the on-field umpires, even as some of their other players engaged with the fourth umpire. The absence of DRS suddenly became a massive talking point.
Sylhet made light work of the chase, though, with Anamul Haque hitting 45. He fell with two to win, before Ravi Bopara hit the winning runs.
Big hit
It was Sylhet's bowling that put Dhaka on the back foot. Sohag Gazi and captain Mosaddek Hossain reduced them to 17 for three in the sixth over. Gazi finished early, taking 2 for 17 off his four overs.
Nazmul continued the good work by bowling stump-to-stump. He removed Naim and Russell in the 13th over. His third scalp was that of Mahmudullah caught at short fine-leg, before trapping Shuvagata Hom lbw for 21.
The spinners dried up the boundaries, as Dhaka managed their first six only in the 16th over. Taskin Ahmed then rounded off the innings with three late strikes, finishing with 3 for 22 from his 2.4 overs.
Big miss
Dhaka's top four had another poor outing, of particular concern being Naim and Jahurul Islam, who are yet to fire.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

Win Probability
SS 100%
100%50%100%MGD InningsSS Innings

Over 17 • SS 101/3

Anamul Haque c Tamim Iqbal b Mashrafe Mortaza 45 (45b 4x4 1x6 69m) SR: 100
Sunrisers won by 7 wickets (with 18 balls remaining)
Powered by Smart Stats
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Sunrisers Innings
<1 / 3>
Bangladesh Premier League