Birmingham, Aug 5 - 8 2009, County Championship Division One
323/8d & 156/4d
Match drawn
Somerset 1st INNINGS
Marcus Trescothick lbw b Rankin10818236417159.34
Arul Suppiah c †Ambrose b Rankin719201036.84
Justin Langer (c)c †Ambrose b Woakes6911223111061.60
James Hildreth not out 868821513097.72
Zander de Bruyn c †Ambrose b Rankin068000.00
Craig Kieswetter c Frost b Woakes622271027.27
Peter Trego c Clarke b Woakes17150014.28
Ben Phillips c Clarke b Woakes716161043.75
Alfonso Thomas c †Ambrose b Clarke1027291037.03
Extras(b 9, lb 10, nb 8, w 2)29
TOTAL(79.1 Ov, RR: 4.08)323/8d
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Arul Suppiah), 2-192 (Justin Langer), 3-230 (Marcus Trescothick), 4-234 (Zander de Bruyn), 5-269 (Craig Kieswetter), 6-279 (Peter Trego), 7-295 (Ben Phillips), 8-323 (Alfonso Thomas)
Boyd Rankin1727134.17---24
Naqaash Tahir1123703.36---00
Neil Carter2329904.30---00
Chris Woakes2568943.56---00
Rikki Clarke3.10812.52---00
Warwickshire 1st INNINGS
Ian Westwood (c)lbw b Willoughby052000.00
Neil Carter c Langer b Thomas2442624057.14
Jim Troughton c Trescothick b Willoughby1117222064.70
Tony Frost c †Kieswetter b Thomas9411415617082.45
Jonathan Trott c Trescothick b Caddick7912117713065.28
Tim Ambrose c Langer b Thomas057000.00
Rikki Clarke c †Kieswetter b Thomas01-000.00
Ant Botha  b Caddick213120015.38
Chris Woakes c †Kieswetter b Willoughby1344551029.54
Naqaash Tahir c Suppiah b Willoughby2331353074.19
Boyd Rankin not out 0612000.00
Extras(b 5, lb 6, nb 2, w 2)15
TOTAL(66.2 Ov, RR: 3.93)261
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Ian Westwood), 2-24 (Jim Troughton), 3-61 (Neil Carter), 4-203 (Tony Frost), 5-207 (Tim Ambrose), 6-207 (Rikki Clarke), 7-210 (Ant Botha), 8-233 (Jonathan Trott), 9-252 (Chris Woakes), 10-261 (Naqaash Tahir)
Charl Willoughby13.243742.77---00
Andy Caddick1846723.72---01
Alfonso Thomas2127243.42---10
Ben Phillips814205.25---00
Peter Trego402205.50---00
Zander de Bruyn201005.00---10
Somerset 2nd INNINGS
Marcus Trescothick not out 10711714215191.45
Arul Suppiah c Clarke b Rankin824261033.33
James Hildreth c sub b Carter1121311052.38
Zander de Bruyn lbw b Botha928501032.14
Craig Kieswetter  b Trott524211020.83
Peter Trego not out 41161036.36
Extras(b 4, lb 1, nb 6, w 1)12
TOTAL(37 Ov, RR: 4.21)156/4d
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Arul Suppiah), 2-53 (James Hildreth), 3-125 (Zander de Bruyn), 4-150 (Craig Kieswetter)
Boyd Rankin723414.85---01
Naqaash Tahir721802.57---00
Neil Carter302117.00---11
Chris Woakes42802.00---00
Rikki Clarke602604.33---01
Ant Botha703414.85---00
Jonathan Trott311013.33---00
Edgbaston, Birmingham
TossWarwickshire, elected to field first
SeriesCounty Championship Division One
Hours of play (local time)11am start, Lunch 13.00-13.40, Tea 15.40-16.00, Close 18.00
Match days5,6,7,8 August 2009 - day (4-day match)
Player Replacement
FC debut
Nathan Newport
Nathan Newport
England Image
Mark Benson
England Image
Neil Mallender
PointsSomerset 10, Warwickshire 8
Wed, 05 Aug - day 1 - no play
Thu, 06 Aug - day 2 - Somerset 1st innings 226/2 (Marcus Trescothick 104*, James Hildreth 22*, 54 ov)
Fri, 07 Aug - day 3 - Warwickshire 1st innings 156/3 (Tony Frost 71*, Jonathan Trott 40*, 33 ov)
Sat, 08 Aug - day 4 - Somerset 2nd innings 156/4d (37 ov) - end of match
Day 2
  • Somerset 1st innings
  • ME Trescothick 100 in 198 mins off 177 balls, 16 fours and 1 six.
Day 4
  • Somerset 2nd innings
  • ME Trescothick 100 in 123 mins off 100 balls, 15 fours and 1 six.