Southend-on-Sea, Jul 28 - 31 2004, Frizzell County Championship Division Two
431 & 248
(55.1 ov, target 245)435 & 246/2
Notts won by 8 wickets
Essex 1st INNINGS
Will Jefferson run out 7515418615048.70
Paul Grayson c & b Pietersen11916521420072.12
Andy Flower c Gallian b Pietersen1823382078.26
Aftab Habib  b Smith713170053.84
Ronnie Irani (c)not out 12221122418157.81
James Foster c Ealham b Smith211100018.18
James Middlebrook lbw b Ealham3051584058.82
Graham Napier lbw b MacGill810111080.00
Andre Adams c Ealham b MacGill1230050.00
Ashley Cowan  b MacGill620171030.00
Scott Brant  b Ealham19621072030.64
Extras(b 3, lb 8, nb 12, w 1)24
TOTAL(119.1 Ov, RR: 3.61)431
Fall of wickets: 1-188 (Will Jefferson), 2-219 (Paul Grayson), 3-228 (Andy Flower), 4-230 (Aftab Habib), 5-234 (James Foster), 6-291 (James Middlebrook), 7-310 (Graham Napier), 8-312 (Andre Adams), 9-326 (Ashley Cowan), 10-431 (Scott Brant)
Greg Smith2468023.33---00
Charlie Shreck1618405.25---01
Mark Ealham17.155723.32---00
Paul Franks1635203.25---14
Stuart MacGill35912433.54---00
Kevin Pietersen1112322.09---01
Nottinghamshire 1st INNINGS
Darren Bicknell c †Foster b Cowan021000.00
Jason Gallian (c)run out 7414717110050.34
Russell Warren lbw b Napier1438552036.84
Kevin Pietersen lbw b Adams16722529418274.22
David Hussey c †Foster b Cowan11615116319176.82
Chris Read lbw b Adams053000.00
Mark Ealham c Flower b Cowan1721274080.95
Paul Franks c †Foster b Adams01116000.00
Greg Smith  b Adams813201061.53
Stuart MacGill c Middlebrook b Adams187930257.14
Charlie Shreck not out 1670016.66
Extras(b 6, lb 3, nb 8, w 3)20
TOTAL(103.4 Ov, RR: 4.19)435
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Darren Bicknell), 2-43 (Russell Warren), 3-171 (Jason Gallian), 4-383 (David Hussey), 5-384 (Chris Read), 6-397 (Kevin Pietersen), 7-408 (Mark Ealham), 8-408 (Paul Franks), 9-432 (Stuart MacGill), 10-435 (Greg Smith)
Ashley Cowan2457032.91---22
Scott Brant1434803.42---00
Graham Napier1416514.64---01
James Middlebrook18110205.66---00
Andre Adams22.419354.10---01
Paul Grayson1104804.36---00
Essex 2nd INNINGS
Will Jefferson c Smith b MacGill1245662026.66
Paul Grayson lbw b MacGill3546506076.08
Andy Flower lbw b Shreck12021005.00
Aftab Habib c †Read b Smith4862739077.41
Ronnie Irani (c)c Ealham b MacGill60677711089.55
James Foster not out 4487956050.57
James Middlebrook c Ealham b MacGill837401021.62
Graham Napier c Hussey b MacGill1317143076.47
Andre Adams c Ealham b MacGill14141920100.00
Ashley Cowan c †Read b MacGill01-000.00
Scott Brant run out 033000.00
Extras(b 2, lb 3, nb 8)13
TOTAL(65.5 Ov, RR: 3.76)248
Fall of wickets: 1-55 (Paul Grayson), 2-56 (Will Jefferson), 3-59 (Andy Flower), 4-158 (Aftab Habib), 5-166 (Ronnie Irani), 6-196 (James Middlebrook), 7-212 (Graham Napier), 8-246 (Andre Adams), 9-246 (Ashley Cowan), 10-248 (Scott Brant)
Greg Smith922412.66---00
Paul Franks712603.71---02
Charlie Shreck923814.22---02
Stuart MacGill28510973.89---00
Mark Ealham501803.60---00
Kevin Pietersen7.512803.57---00
Nottinghamshire 2nd INNINGS (target: 245 runs)
Darren Bicknell lbw b Adams1324241154.16
Jason Gallian (c)not out 12016719320071.85
Russell Warren c †Foster b Middlebrook3680985045.00
Kevin Pietersen not out 69606573115.00
Extras(lb 2, w 6)8
TOTAL(55.1 Ov, RR: 4.45)246/2
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Darren Bicknell), 2-128 (Russell Warren)
Ashley Cowan803904.87---00
Andre Adams1314213.23---00
Scott Brant722703.85---00
James Middlebrook1536214.13---00
Graham Napier402406.00---00
Paul Grayson8.105006.12---30
Southchurch Park, Southend-on-Sea
TossEssex, elected to bat first
SeriesFrizzell County Championship Division Two
Match daysday(4-day match)
England Image
Alan Whitehead
England Image
Nigel Llong
PointsNottinghamshire 22, Essex 8
Wed, 28 Jul - day 1 -Essex 1st innings 355/9 (Ronnie Irani 59*, Scott Brant 12*, 104 ov)
Thu, 29 Jul - day 2 -Notts 1st innings 370/3 (Kevin Pietersen 152*, David Hussey 112*, 86 ov)
Fri, 30 Jul - day 3 -Notts 2nd innings 54/1 (Jason Gallian 28*, Russell Warren 12*, 17 ov)
Sat, 31 Jul - day 4 -Notts 2nd innings 246/2 (55.1 ov) - end of match
Day 1
  • AP Grayson 100 in 184 mins off 139 balls, 17x4
Day 2
  • KP Pietersen 100 in 139 mins off 110 balls, 15x4, 1x6
  • DJ Hussey 100 in 122 mins off 104 balls, 18x4, 1x6
Day 4
  • JER Gallian 100 in 158 mins off 130 balls, 17x4