5th place play-off

England Under-19s 47 for 2 (Godleman 20*) v Australia Under-19s 106 for 7 (Pascoe 55*) Match abandoned due to rain

Jason Dawes' 4 for 18 set up West Indies' seven-wicket win over Nepal in the Plate Championship final © Getty Images

Rain had the final word at the Royal Selangor Club in Kuala Lumpur, washing out the play-off for fifth place between arch rivals Australia and England. In a curtailed game - 24 overs a side - Kirk Pascoe's 55 led an impressive recovery for Australia after they were in a precarious position at 7 for 4.

England exploited the damp conditions after putting Australia in, with the new-ball bowlers - Steven Finn and James Harris - snaring four victims in just 4.1 overs. A wicket didn't fall for the next 12.2 overs, as David King provided support to Pascoe with a patient 45-ball 19.

Tom Westley, the offspinner, picked up two wickets in his five overs, but Pascoe ensured Australia played out their overs for a fighting total of 106 for 7. Pascoe kept the scoring-rate ticking along with five fours and a six in his 67-ball innings.

When the match was called off, England were at 47 for 2 off 10.5 overs, needing another 60 off 79 deliveries.

Plate Championship final

West Indies Under-19s 78 for 3 (Bravo 24*, Bhattarai 2-25) beat Nepal Under-19s 74 (Dawes 4-18, Bravo 3-9) by seven wickets
An fine all-round performance from Darren Bravo helped West Indies clinch the Plate Championship - contested for ninth place - at the Bayuemas Oval in Kuala Lumpur. Rain resulted in the match being reduced to 27 overs a side, and the Nepal captain Paras Khadka, playing the last match of his third and final U-19 World Cup, opted to bat.

However, the move backfired with the West Indies seamers striking early blows. Jason Dawes, the right-arm fast bowler, collected three wickets, and his new-ball partner Delorn Johnson picked up one as Nepal were reduced to 17 for 4.

Bravo then came and chipped away at the middle order, taking three wickets, and Dawes took his fourth as Nepal crashed to 74 all out in 25.3 overs. Extras made the highest contribution to Nepal's total; Sagar Khadka was next with an unbeaten 17 in an innings where the best partnership managed 15.

Kieran Powell and Adrian Barath got West Indies off to a steady start, before Bravo steered them to victory with an unbeaten 24. Amrit Bhattarai scalped two consolation wickets, but a paltry total meant holders Nepal couldn't avoid losing the trophy that they famously won in 2006.

13th place play-off

Ireland Under-19s 100 for 4 (Hall 32, Matsika 2-14) beat Zimbabwe Under-19s 99 (Nehonde 43, Britton 4-14) by six wickets
Ireland completed back-to-back wins in Johor to secure 13th place with their first victory over a Full Member nation at U-19 level. On Friday, Greg Thompson, the captain, spun a web with his legspin against Bermuda, but it was opening bowler Andrew Britton who wrecked Zimbabwe in the 13th place play-off final.

Thompson's decision to field in a match reduced to 27 overs a side soon paid dividends. Britton accounted for Zimbabwe's top four as they were reduced to 34 for 6, Shane Getkate picking up the other two wickets. Reginald Nehonde, the No. 7, struck 43 as Zimbabwe batted out their overs and scored 99.

A 40-run second-wicket stand between Ben Ackland and James Hall set up the platform for Ireland's chase. Stewart Matsika dismissed them both, but the remaining batsmen completed the win with six wickets and 22 balls to spare.