New Zealand Women 190 for 1 (Satterthwaite 89*, Bates 82*) beat South Africa Women 188 for 9 (van Niekerk 78, Huddleston 5-25, Nielson 2-36) by nine wickets
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details
New Zealand Women thumped South Africa Women by nine wickets in the third ODI to claim the last two ICC Women's Championship points of the series and take a 2-1 lead. By winning the 1000th women's ODI overall, New Zealand now have 20 points in the championship table, joint with second-placed West Indies, and one ahead of England's 19 points.
New Zealand cruised past their target of 189 in 33.1 overs with unbeaten fifties from captain Suzie Bates and No. 3 Amy Satterthwaite as they put on 174 runs for the second wicket. Once Rachel Priest was bowled for 10 in the fifth over, Bates, 88 off 82, and Satterthwaite, 89 of 97, scored briskly to not allow the hosts any more success. Bates struck five fours and two sixes in her 18th ODI fifty, while Satterthwaite's 12th fifty included 12 fours.
South Africa had chosen to bat earlier but things didn't go as per plans as left-arm spinner Morna Nielsen followed her five-for in the second ODI with two early wickets. The hosts were soon 55 for 4, including opener Lizelle Lee's 36, before being revived by Marizanne Kapp and Dane van Niekerk. They took the score past 100 before Kapp was dismissed for 32 by medium-pacer Holly Huddleston who also ran through the middle and lower order, even though van Niekerk stayed unbeaten to score 78.
Huddleston took four of the last six wickets to finish with 5 for 25 from 10 overs, her second five-for in only nine ODIs. Nielsen finished with 2 for 36 as South Africa were bowled out in 50 overs.