Matches (19)
CPL (3)
ENG-W v IND-W (1)
Duleep Trophy (1)
Marsh Cup (1)
NZ-A in IND (1)
PAK v ENG (1)
IND v AUS (1)
WT20 WC QLF (4)
WI-W v NZ-W (1)
UAE v BAN (1)
RHF Trophy (1)
Road Safety (2)
Legends League (1)
1st ODI, Greater Noida, March 15, 2017, Afghanistan tour of India
(46.5/50 ov, T:293) 262

Afghanistan won by 30 runs

Player Of The Match
119 (98)
Afghanistan Innings
Ireland Innings
Match Details
Afghanistan  (50 ovs maximum)
Mohammad Shahzad run out (KJ O'Brien)4341-71104.87
Noor Ali Zadran c sub (AR McBrine) b Dockrell5171-3071.83
Rahmat Shah c Dockrell b KJ O'Brien7892-4384.78
Asghar Afghan (c)c †NJ O'Brien b Murtagh1015-1066.66
Hashmatullah Shahidi c †NJ O'Brien b KJ O'Brien3232-40100.00
Samiullah Shinwari c sub (AR McBrine) b KJ O'Brien3022-22136.36
Mohammad Nabi not out 3419-31178.94
Gulbadin Naib c Porterfield b Chase79-0077.77
Dawlat Zadran not out 00-00-
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 5)7
TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 5.84)292/7
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Mohammad Shahzad, 10.5 ov), 2-151 (Noor Ali Zadran, 29.4 ov), 3-180 (Asghar Afghan, 34.5 ov), 4-197 (Rahmat Shah, 38.1 ov), 5-250 (Hashmatullah Shahidi, 45.1 ov), 6-251 (Samiullah Shinwari, 45.3 ov), 7-283 (Gulbadin Naib, 49.1 ov)
Tim Murtagh1005515.50266000
34.5 to Asghar Stanikzai, lazy shot. Good length outside off, very slight movement away, but it's his lack of feet movement that has done him in, not the ball's. Pokes at it a couple of yards outside the off stump, gets an outside edge through to the keeper. 180/3
George Dockrell1016816.80255310
29.4 to Noor Ali Zadran, he's picked the fielder. Arm ball, angled in at off stump, he hangs back, gets low and wants to slog this through midwicket. But it skids on quickly, his bat turns and he picks out short midwicket who takes it low under his eyes. Wasn't to the pitch of the ball and that shot is difficult to pull off on this pitch if you aren't. 151/2
Peter Chase1006916.90298121
49.1 to Gulbadin Naib, low full toss at off stump, walks across the stumps, gets under it and lifts it straight to deep midwicket. That was tailing in and he went for the angle, but it was too close to him and he couldn't get power into it. 283/7
Jacob Mulder201809.0041100
Kevin O'Brien1004734.70303100
38.1 to Rahmat Shah, ...and that was the shot of a tired man as well. Good length at middle stump, decides he's had enough of the straight bat singles, backs away and tries to slog this over long-on on the up. The pitch is low, and slow, and there isn't enough power on that. Long-on didn't have to move. 197/4
45.1 to Hashmatullah Shahidi, good length, cutter, wide outside off, tries to slam this on the up through the off side, big edge, carries to the keeper's left. 250/5
45.3 to Samiullah Shinwari, and another for O'Brien. Good length at off stump, walks across and sets himself up for a big slog, cramps himself for room and doesn't middle it. Flies towards long-on who runs in and takes a neat catch low as he's sliding. 251/6
Paul Stirling502004.00150100
Stuart Thompson301404.6681000
Ireland  (T: 293 runs from 50 ovs)
Ed Joyce c †Mohammad Shahzad b Amir Hamza48-0050.00
Paul Stirling c & b Rashid Khan6890-6175.55
William Porterfield (c)c Samiullah Shinwari b Dawlat Zadran11998-180121.42
Niall O'Brien lbw b Rashid Khan1023-1043.47
Kevin O'Brien st †Mohammad Shahzad b Amir Hamza1319-1068.42
Gary Wilson lbw b Dawlat Zadran01-000.00
Stuart Thompson c sub (Shafiqullah) b Dawlat Zadran27-0028.57
George Dockrell lbw b Rashid Khan1214-1085.71
Tim Murtagh lbw b Rashid Khan25-0040.00
Jacob Mulder not out 1511-20136.36
Peter Chase c sub (Shafiqullah) b Dawlat Zadran88-10100.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 3, w 5)9
TOTAL46.5 Ov (RR: 5.59)262
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Ed Joyce, 2.6 ov), 2-170 (Paul Stirling, 28.4 ov), 3-206 (Niall O'Brien, 35.2 ov), 4-214 (William Porterfield, 36.5 ov), 5-215 (Gary Wilson, 36.6 ov), 6-220 (Stuart Thompson, 38.5 ov), 7-230 (Kevin O'Brien, 41.5 ov), 8-233 (Tim Murtagh, 42.5 ov), 9-246 (George Dockrell, 44.3 ov), 10-262 (Peter Chase, 46.5 ov)
Amir Hamza1005725.70257010
2.6 to EC Joyce, that's a soft dismissal. Strangled down the leg side. It's a harmless length ball on leg stump channel and spinning further down leg. Joyce tries to tuck it off the pads and ends up getting an edge to the wicketkeeper. 13/1
41.5 to KJ O'Brien, gone. Superbly done. Oh, what a delivery. He was backing away to make room and the bowler fires it flat, lack of flight and on a length. He comes forward and looks to flick it away but the ball spins away from him and he ends up walking into the shot. Shahzad does the rest. 230/7
Dawlat Zadran8.505346.00297022
36.5 to WTS Porterfield, he's chipped it to extra cover! Full ball outside off, looks like it has stopped on him as he goes for to cover drive again. The bat turns in his hand and floats in front of Shenwari who dives low to his left and holds on. His feet did not move there. Afghanistan are back in this.. 214/4
36.6 to GC Wilson, and another! Trapped right in front. Good length, swinging in slightly again, pitches and skids off the pitch, straight at leg stump. Wilson rooted to his crease, nervously tries to get bat on it but doesn't manage to. Up goes for the finger. 215/5
38.5 to SR Thompson, full and outside off, Thompson drives on the up but cannot place it well. Picks out mid-off who runs an inch or two to his left and snaffles it. Ireland in more than some trouble here.. 220/6
46.5 to PKD Chase, and there's the end. Comes down the track in a pre-meditated move and the bowler makes the adjustment in length. Drops it short and he has to play a forced pull late, gets a top edge for his troubles and gets it off the top edge to long-on who takes it easily. 262/10
Gulbadin Naib905406.00255111
Mohammad Nabi903804.22263000
Rashid Khan904845.33256010
28.4 to PR Stirling, oh, gone. Off the splice again and this time it has been chipped straight back to Rashid who gets a good low catch. It's the wrong'un bowled from the back of the hand and not picked up by the batsman who pushes it uppishly back to Rashid. 170/2
35.2 to NJ O'Brien, full at off stump, he's playing for the angle and and has completely missed this. Tries to push it to long-off, but his bat is a couple of inches away from the ball as it strikes his pad right in front of off stump. 206/3
42.5 to TJ Murtagh, gone. That looked plumb. Flat length ball and he expects it to come on with the arm and seeing that it is drifting away, opens up his arms to cut. But he is no position to play it as the ball spins in to him and strikes him on the back pad in front of middle and leg. 233/8
44.3 to GH Dockrell, that's the quicker ball. Stays in the crease and plays for the turn. But the ball merely straightens and goes past the inside edge to rap him on the pad. Easy call for the umpire, that hit him in front of middle and leg. 246/9
Samiullah Shinwari1011011.0012000
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Greater Noida Sports Complex Ground, Greater Noida
TossAfghanistan, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
William Porterfield
Series resultAfghanistan led the 5-match series 1-0
Match numberODI no. 3850
Hours of play (local time)09.30 start, First Session 09.30-13.00 Interval 13.00-13.45, Second Session 13.45-17.15
Match days15 March 2017 - day (50-over match)
Ahmed Shah Pakteen
Nitin Menon
TV Umpire
Anil Chaudhary
Match Referee
Sri Lanka
Graeme Labrooy
Ireland Innings
<1 / 3>