1st Test, Birmingham, Jun 6 - 9 1996, India tour of England
214 & 219
(target 121)313 & 121/2
England won by 8 wickets
Player Of The Match
India 1st INNINGS
Vikram Rathour c Knight b Cork2052661038.46
Ajay Jadeja c Atherton b Lewis0916000.00
Sanjay Manjrekar c Atherton b Lewis2347684048.93
Sachin Tendulkar  b Cork2441714058.53
Mohammad Azharuddin (c)c Knight b Irani1327303048.14
Nayan Mongia  b Mullally2039484051.28
Sunil Joshi c Thorpe b Mullally1264931018.75
Anil Kumble c Knight b Cork58131062.50
Javagal Srinath c †Russell b Mullally5265949080.00
Paras Mhambrey c Thorpe b Cork2849764057.14
Venkatesh Prasad not out 01824000.00
Extras(b 3, lb 10, nb 4)17
TOTAL(69.1 Ov, RR: 3.09)214
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Ajay Jadeja), 1-40, 2-41 (Vikram Rathour), 3-64 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 4-93 (Sachin Tendulkar), 5-103 (Nayan Mongia), 6-118 (Sanjay Manjrekar), 7-127 (Anil Kumble), 8-150 (Sunil Joshi), 9-203 (Javagal Srinath), 10-214 (Paras Mhambrey)
Chris Lewis1824422.44---00
Dominic Cork20.156143.02---03
Alan Mullally2276032.72---01
Ronnie Irani742213.14---00
Min Patel201407.00---00
England 1st INNINGS
Nick Knight c †Mongia b Srinath2748784056.25
Mike Atherton (c)c Rathour b Mhambrey33981225033.67
Nasser Hussain c sub (R Dravid) b Srinath12822731318156.38
Graham Thorpe  b Srinath2130452170.00
Graeme Hick c Mhambrey b Prasad829402027.58
Ronnie Irani c †Mongia b Srinath34344170100.00
Jack Russell  b Prasad01422000.00
Chris Lewis c Rathour b Prasad011000.00
Dominic Cork c Jadeja b Prasad4980044.44
Min Patel lbw b Kumble1835522051.42
Alan Mullally not out 1425473056.00
Extras(b 16, lb 3, nb 7)26
TOTAL(90.2 Ov, RR: 3.46)313
Fall of wickets: 1-60 (Nick Knight), 2-72 (Mike Atherton), 3-109 (Graham Thorpe), 4-149 (Graeme Hick), 5-195 (Ronnie Irani), 6-205 (Jack Russell), 7-205 (Chris Lewis), 8-215 (Dominic Cork), 9-264 (Min Patel), 10-313 (Nasser Hussain)
Javagal Srinath28.2510343.63---05
Venkatesh Prasad2897142.53---00
Anil Kumble2447713.20---00
Paras Mhambrey1004314.30---03
India 2nd INNINGS
Vikram Rathour c Hick b Cork711211063.63
Ajay Jadeja c †Russell b Lewis627371022.22
Nayan Mongia c Hussain b Cork936201025.00
Sachin Tendulkar c Thorpe b Lewis12217726319168.92
Mohammad Azharuddin (c) b Mullally035000.00
Sunil Joshi c †Russell b Mullally1215991080.00
Sanjay Manjrekar c Knight b Lewis1864482028.12
Anil Kumble run out (Knight/Hick)1554702027.77
Javagal Srinath lbw b Lewis11418007.14
Paras Mhambrey  b Lewis1520282075.00
Venkatesh Prasad not out 0616000.00
Extras(b 4, lb 9, nb 1)14
TOTAL(70.4 Ov, RR: 3.09)219
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Vikram Rathour), 2-17 (Ajay Jadeja), 3-35 (Nayan Mongia), 4-36 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 5-68 (Sunil Joshi), 6-127 (Sanjay Manjrekar), 7-185 (Anil Kumble), 8-193 (Javagal Srinath), 9-208 (Sachin Tendulkar), 10-219 (Paras Mhambrey)
Chris Lewis22.467253.17---00
Dominic Cork1954022.10---00
Alan Mullally1544322.86---01
Ronnie Irani2021010.50---00
Min Patel831802.25---00
Graeme Hick411203.00---00
England 2nd INNINGS (target: 121 runs)
Nick Knight lbw b Prasad1429401048.27
Mike Atherton (c)not out 531001533053.00
Nasser Hussain c Srinath b Prasad1943542044.18
Graham Thorpe not out 1736592047.22
Extras(b 8, lb 7, nb 2, w 1)18
TOTAL(33.5 Ov, RR: 3.57)121/2
Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Nick Knight), 2-77 (Nasser Hussain)
Javagal Srinath14.534703.16---15
Venkatesh Prasad1405023.57---00
Anil Kumble53901.80---00
Edgbaston, Birmingham
TossIndia, elected to bat first
SeriesIndia tour of England
Player Of The Match
Nasser Hussain
Nasser Hussain
Series resultEngland led the 3-match series 1-0
Match numberTest no. 1327
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Alan Mullally
Alan Mullally
Min Patel
Min Patel
Paras Mhambrey
Paras Mhambrey
Ronnie Irani
Ronnie Irani
Sunil Joshi
Sunil Joshi
Venkatesh Prasad
Venkatesh Prasad
Vikram Rathour
Vikram Rathour
Australia Image
Darrell Hair
England Image
David Shepherd
TV Umpire
England Image
Allan Jones
Match Referee
West Indies Image
Cammie Smith
Thu, 06 Jun - day 1 - England 1st innings 60/0 (Nick Knight 27*, Mike Atherton 31*)
Fri, 07 Jun - day 2 - India 2nd innings 5/0 (Vikram Rathour 5*, Ajay Jadeja 0*)
Sat, 08 Jun - day 3 - England 2nd innings 73/1 (Mike Atherton 29*, Nasser Hussain 18*)
Sun, 09 Jun - day 4 - England 2nd innings 121/2 (33.5 ov) - end of match
Day 1
  • SV Manjrekar (1) retired hurt on 10* from 40/1 to 103/5
  • Manjrekar used a runner upon the resumption of his innings
  • Irani took the wicket of Azharuddin off the 5th delivery he bowled in Test cricket.
Day 2
  • Hussain's maiden test century
Day 3
  • Tendulkar's 9th test century
  • Tendulkar reached his century with a 6 off Patel.
  • India 2nd innings: 2x7 ball overs (DB Hair miscounted, once each for Mullally and Patel).
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions