14th match (N), DY Patil, April 27, 2008, Indian Premier League
(12/20 ov) 155/0

Chargers won by 10 wickets (with 48 balls remaining)

Mumbai Indians INNINGS (20 overs maximum)
Luke Ronchi c Laxman b Singh1311-30118.18
Sanath Jayasuriya c Sharma b Shahid Afridi1821-2085.71
Ajinkya Rahane c Ojha b Bangar07-000.00
Robin Uthappa c †Gilchrist b Shahid Afridi65-10120.00
Shaun Pollock (c) b Bangar3131-31100.00
Abhishek Nayar c †Gilchrist b Zoysa3419-13178.94
Dwayne Bravo c Ojha b Singh3418-31188.88
Musavir Khote not out 710-1070.00
Extras(b 2, lb 4, nb 2, w 3)11
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 7.70)154/7
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Luke Ronchi, 2.2 ov), 2-18 (Ajinkya Rahane, 3.5 ov), 3-27 (Robin Uthappa, 5.2 ov), 4-55 (Sanath Jayasuriya, 10.3 ov), 5-79 (Shaun Pollock, 13.3 ov), 6-122 (Abhishek Nayar, 16.3 ov), 7-154 (Dwayne Bravo, 19.6 ov)
RP Singh411523.75182020
2.2 to L Ronchi, short, wide and caught! That's a pretty average delivery, it was short and wide outside off stump and asking to be cut, Ronchi went after it and perhaps tried to hit it too hard, he got an outside edge which flew quickly to Laxman at first slip, sharp catch. 15/1
19.6 to DJ Bravo, caught! RP bowls a short of a length delivery which Bravo tries to pull over the leg side, he made contact outside off stump and hit it straight to Ojha at mid-off who takes a simple catch. 154/7
Nuwan Zoysa403017.50113111
16.3 to AM Nayar, caught! Zoysa bowls the short ball, Nayar makes room once again and tries to hook, this time he gets a top edge to Gilchrist who takes the catch, that brings an exhilarating innings from Nayar to an end. 122/6
Sanjay Bangar403428.5094100
3.5 to AM Rahane, caught! Rahane attempts to clear the deep square leg boundary with the pull but the ball is just too slow, he plays the shot too early and hits it straight to Ojha at deep backward square leg, he's out for a duck. 18/2
13.3 to SM Pollock, bowled him! Pollock backs away and tries to pull the ball off the front foot, the line and length is dead straight from Bangar, Pollock misses and Bangar hits middle stump, Mumbai are reeling now. 79/5
Shahid Afridi403228.00111201
5.2 to RV Uthappa, caught! or is it lbw? Afridi bowls a quicker ball slanting into the right-hander, Uthappa tries to cut from his crease, the ball brushed his front pad on its way through to Gilchrist, not sure if it hit the bat yet, it's been given caught so uthappa might be unlucky. 27/3
10.3 to ST Jayasuriya, Afridi bowls the googly, Jayasuriya moves across and tries to swing the ball over the leg side, he gets beaten by the change of pace and the top edge swirls high in the air towards backward square leg, Sharma runs back and takes a well judged catch. 55/4
Pragyan Ojha201407.0042000
Doddapaneni Kalyankrishna2023011.5022100
Deccan Chargers INNINGS (Target: 155 runs from 20 overs)
Adam Gilchrist not out 10947-910231.91
VVS Laxman (c)not out 3726-41142.30
Extras(b 4, lb 1, w 4)9
TOTAL12 Ov (RR: 12.91)155
Ashish Nehra201909.5054000
Shaun Pollock2033016.5033300
Dhawal Kulkarni10808.0042000
Sanath Jayasuriya201708.5041100
Siddharth Chitnis2020010.0042110
Dwayne Bravo2031015.5031320
Abhishek Nayar1022022.0000310
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai
TossDeccan Chargers, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Adam Gilchrist
Hours of play (local time)20.00 start, First Session 20.00-21.20, Interval 21.20-21.40, Second Session 21.40-23.00
Match days27 April 2008 - night (20-over match)
T20 debut
Siddharth Chitnis
Siddharth Chitnis
Asad Rauf
Suresh Shastri
TV Umpire
Daryl Harper
Match Referee
Srinivas Venkataraghavan
PointsDeccan Chargers 2, Mumbai Indians 0
  • Mumbai Indians innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 27 runs, 3 wickets)
  • Mumbai Indians: 50 runs in 9.3 overs (58 balls), Extras 4
  • Mumbai Indians: 100 runs in 15.1 overs (92 balls), Extras 6
  • Mumbai Indians: 150 runs in 19.4 overs (120 balls), Extras 10
  • Innings Break: Mumbai Indians - 154/7 in 20.0 overs (MA Khote 7)
  • Deccan Chargers innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 60 runs, 0 wicket)
  • Deccan Chargers: 50 runs in 5.1 overs (31 balls), Extras 0
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 31 balls (AC Gilchrist 40, VVS Laxman 11, Ex 0)
  • AC Gilchrist: 50 off 28 balls (7 x 4, 3 x 6)
  • Deccan Chargers: 100 runs in 8.3 overs (51 balls), Extras 3
  • 1st Wicket: 100 runs in 51 balls (AC Gilchrist 77, VVS Laxman 20, Ex 3)
  • AC Gilchrist: 100 off 42 balls (9 x 4, 9 x 6)
  • Deccan Chargers innings: 1x7 ball over (11th over, bowled by DJ Bravo, called by Umpire Asad Rauf)
  • Deccan Chargers: 150 runs in 11.4 overs (71 balls), Extras 9
  • 1st Wicket: 150 runs in 71 balls (AC Gilchrist 109, VVS Laxman 32, Ex 9)