(N), Brisbane, Jan 8 2010, Twenty20 Big Bash
(20 ov, target 154)144/9
Queensland won by 9 runs
player of the match
James Hopes
Queensland INNINGS (20 overs maximum)
Nathan Reardon  b Denton4780057.14
James Hopes c Naved-ul-Hasan b Drew50313970161.29
Lee Carseldine c Lockyear b Doherty25172240147.06
Craig Philipson c Dighton b Geeves1415181093.33
Andrew Symonds c Doherty b Geeves67140085.71
Ryan Harris c Doolan b Geeves011000.00
Glen Batticciotto run out (†Paine)1315261086.67
Chris Simpson (c)c Doherty b Geeves74301175.00
Ben Dunk c Denton b Naved-ul-Hasan17171400100.00
Ben Cutting  b Denton2320066.67
Nathan Rimmington not out 2330066.67
Extras(lb 3, w 10)13
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 7.65, 80 Mts)153
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Nathan Reardon, 2.1 ov), 2-75 (Lee Carseldine, 7.6 ov), 3-85 (James Hopes, 9.5 ov), 4-105 (Craig Philipson, 12.4 ov), 5-105 (Andrew Symonds, 12.5 ov), 6-105 (Ryan Harris, 12.6 ov), 7-114 (Chris Simpson, 14.2 ov), 8-146 (Ben Dunk, 18.3 ov), 9-149 (Ben Cutting, 19.1 ov), 10-153 (Glen Batticciotto, 19.6 ov)
Gerard Denton403027.5081030
Brendan Drew4040110.0085110
Brett Geeves403047.5094010
Xavier Doherty402817.0062000
Tasmania INNINGS (target: 154 runs from 20 overs)
Rhett Lockyear  b Harris3580060.00
Tim Paine (c)†run out (Carseldine)39201852195.00
Alex Doolan c †Dunk b Symonds410170040.00
Travis Birt c Batticciotto b Simpson911141081.82
Michael Dighton run out (Rimmington/Harris)2427331088.89
John Rogers  b Harris24202301120.00
Naved-ul-Hasan  b Hopes4580080.00
Brett Geeves c Batticciotto b Hopes20161820125.00
Brendan Drew c Batticciotto b Hopes011000.00
Xavier Doherty not out 841001200.00
Gerard Denton not out 41110400.00
Extras(lb 1, w 4)5
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 7.20, 78 Mts)144/9
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Rhett Lockyear, 2.1 ov), 2-45 (Tim Paine, 4.6 ov), 3-49 (Alex Doolan, 6.2 ov), 4-65 (Travis Birt, 9.3 ov), 5-107 (Michael Dighton, 15.2 ov), 6-107 (John Rogers, 15.3 ov), 7-116 (Naved-ul-Hasan, 17.4 ov), 8-116 (Brendan Drew, 17.5 ov), 9-139 (Brett Geeves, 19.4 ov)
Ryan Harris402626.50122110
Nathan Rimmington302207.3351100
Ben Cutting2022011.0053100
James Hopes403338.2583100
Andrew Symonds402516.2571010
Chris Simpson301515.0070010
Brisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane
TossQueensland, elected to bat first
SeriesTwenty20 Big Bash
Player Of The Match
James Hopes
James Hopes
Hours of play (local time)18.45 start, First Session 18.45-20.00, Interval 20.00-20.15, Second Session 20.15-21.30
Match days8 January 2010 - night match (20-over match)
T20 debut
John Rogers
John Rogers
Australia Image
Paul Reiffel
Australia Image
Rod Tucker
TV Umpire
Australia Image
Norm McNamara
Match Referee
Australia Image
Steve Small
PointsQueensland 2, Tasmania 0
  • 12th Men: CA Lynn (Queensland) and JJ Krejza (Tasmania)
  • Queensland innings
  • JR Hopes: 50 off 30 balls
  • B Geeves bowled a hat-trick with the wickets of CA Phillipson, A Symonds and RJ Harris
  • Attendance: 16,494