3rd Test, Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Statistical Highlights

It was the 1502nd Test match in cricket history

  • It was the 1502nd Test match in cricket history.
  • It was the 102nd Test for Sri Lanka and 270th for Pakistan.
  • It was the 27th Test between these two sides and 10th on Sri Lankan soil.
  • Umpire Steve Bucknor was officiating in his 51st Test, which equalled Englishman David Shepherd's tally. Now only another Englishman Dicky Bird with 66 Test appearances as umpire is ahead of Bucknor. For the other umpire Peter Manuel it was his 6th Test.
  • Prasanna Jayawardene became the 83rd Sri Lankan to make a Test appearance.
  • Sanath Jayasuriya was playing in his 50th Test. He became the 159th player in Test history and sixth Sri Lankan to do so. The full roster : Arjuna Ranatunga (90), Aravinda De Silva (84), Hassan Tillakaratne (56), Mutthiah Muralitharan (54), Roshan Mahanama (52)and now Jayasuriya (50)..
  • The 335 run-partnership between Atapattu and Jayasuriya is the highest partnership for the opening wicket for Sri Lanka against all countries. This obliterates the previous record stand of 159 between Ravi Ratnayeke and Sidath Wettimuny against India at Kanpur in 1986-87.
  • The Jayasuriya-Atapattu partnership is also the highest for opening wicket against Pakistan by any side beating the 269 run partnership between Australians Michael Slater and Greg Blewett at Brisbane in 1999-00.
  • The partnership is also the second highest for Sri Lanka for any wicket after the 576 run partnership (for second wicket) between Jayasuriya and Roshan Mahanama against India at Colombo RP in 1996-97.
  • The Atapattu-Jayasuriya partnership is the fifth highest for the opening wicket. The details :
  • Runs Batsmen                            Teams    Venue Series
    413 MH Mankad(231)/ P Roy(173)        IND vs NZ  Madras 1955-56
    387  GM Turner(259)/ TW Jarvis(182)        NZ vs WI   Georgetown 1971-72
    382 WM Lawry(210) / RB Simpson(201)        Aus vs WI  Bridgetown 1964-65
    359 L Hutton(158)/ C Washbrook(195)        Eng vs SA  Johannesburg 1948-49
    335 ST Jayasuriya(188)/ MS Atapattu(207*)  SL vs Pak  Kandy         1999-00
    329 GR Marsh(138) / MA Taylor(219)        Aus vs Eng Nottingham 1989-90
    323 JB Hobbs(178) / W Rhodes(179)        Eng vs Aus Melbourne  1911-12
    298 CG Greenidge(149)/DL Haynes(167)       WI vs Eng  St John's  1989-90
    298 Aamir Sohail(160)/Ijaz Ahmed(151)      Pak vs WI  Karachi  1997-98
    296 CG Greenidge(154*)/ DL Haynes(136)     WI vs Ind  St John's 1982-83
  • Jayasuriya and Atapattu provided the first instance for Sri Lanka and 37th in Test cricket of both openers scoring a century in same innings. This feat has been performed four times by the English and Australian opening pairs of Sir J Hobbs and H Sutcliffe and Bill Lawry and Bob Simpson respectively and thrice by the West Indian opening pair of Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes.
  • Jayasuriya, on 19 , completed his 3000 runs in Test cricket to become the third Sri Lankan after Aravinda De Silva and Arjuna Ranatunga. Jayasuriya also became the 108th batsman in Test cricket to achieve this milestone.
  • Sanath Jayasuriya's innings (188) is the highest by a Sri Lankan captain in Test cricket.The previous highest was Arjuna Ranatunga's 131 against South Africa at Moratuwa in 1993-94. Interestingly it was only the fifth hundred by a Sri Lankan skipper in Test cricket.The other hundreds are: 127 by Arjuna Ranatunga against Australia at Colombo SSC in 1992-93, 124 by Duleep Mendis against India at Kandy in 1985-86 and 111 by Duleep Mendis against England at Lord's in 1984.
  • Jayasuriya's innings is also the highest by a Test captain against Pakistan at No.2. The previous highest was Australia's Bob Simpson's 153 at Karachi in 1964-65.
  • Jayasuriya's innings is also the highest by any captain on Sri Lankan soil putting into shade New Zealander Stephen Fleming's 174* at Colombo in 1997-98.
  • Marvan Atapattu scored his third double century in his 35th Test. This was also the ninth multiple hundred for Sri Lanka (including one triple century).
  • Atapattu now holds the record of scoring most double centuries for Sri Lanka. He was earlier at level with Sanath Jayasuriya with two 200 plus scores.
  • Atapattu became only the 12th batsman in Test cricket to score three double centuries in a career. Australia's Don Bradman has scored most double centuries - 12. He is followed by England's Wally Hammond (7), Pakistan's Javed Miandad (6), West Indies' Gordon Greenidge (4), India's Sunil Gavaskar (4), Pakistan's Zaheer Abbas (4), Australia's Greg Chappell (4) and England's Len Hutton (4). Atapattu is now at level with two West Indians Viv Richards and Brian Lara and Australia's Bob Simpson with three double centuries.
  • A total of 198 double centuries have now been scored by 123 batsmen in Test cricket. The break-up: 25 Englishmen on 39 occasions, 30 Australians on 50 occasions, 9 South Africans on 12 occasions, 19 West Indians on 33 occasions, 7 New Zealanders on 8 occasions, 12 Indians on 18 occasions, 13 Pakistanis on 26 occasions, 5 Sri Lankans on 9 occasions and 3 Zimbabweans on 3 occasions.
  • Atapattu's innings is the highest for Sri Lanka against Pakistan. This obliterated Aravinda De Silva's 168 at Colombo RP in 1996-97. Overall it was the ninth highest individual innings against Pakistan in Test cricket.
  • Sri Lanka's total (467 for five) is its highest against Pakistan on home soil beating 423 for 8 at Colombo RP in 1996- 97. However Sri Lanka's alltime highest against Pakistan (home or away) still remains as 479 at Faisalabad in 1985-86.
  • At the end of the series: Pakistan's overall Test record: played 270, won 77, lost 65 and drawn 128. Sri Lanka's overall Test record: played 102, won 18, lost 41 and drawn 43. Moin Khan's captaincy record: played 8, won 3, lost 1 and drawn 4 Sanath Jayasuriya's captaincy record: played 12, won 4, lost 3 and drawn 5.