Caribbean Premier League squads finalised

Kieron Pollard top scored with an unbeaten 45 Randy Brooks / © WICB Media

The Caribbean Premier League draft was held in Jamaica on June 5, with squads of 15 finalised for each of the six participating franchises.

Marlon Samuels has been named a franchise player for Antigua and Barbuda, Kieron Pollard for Barbados, Sunil Narine for Guyana, Chris Gayle for Jamaica, Darren Sammy for St Lucia, and Dwayne Bravo for Trinidad & Tobago. The West Indies franchise players, who were in London because of the Champions Trophy, were tuned in online during the draft process. "I really enjoyed the entire draft process. I can't wait for the CPL to get started, and I love my team," Bravo said.

Among the overseas players, Ricky Ponting, Steven Smith and Justin Kemp will play for Antigua and Barbuda while Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, and Shakib Al Hasan will play for Barbados. Mohammad Hafeez, Martin Guptill, and James Franklin will represent Guyana, and Muttiah Muralitharan, Shaun Marsh, Vernon Philander, and Jacques Rudolph have been enlisted by Jamaica. Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, and Tamim Iqbal have been signed by St Lucia, and Ross Taylor, Aaron Finch, and Kevin O'Brien will turn out for Trinidad & Tobago. Adam Gilchrist, last week, pulled out of the Caribbean Premier League due to an ankle injury.

Players in the league were originally divided into three groups. Pool A featured international cricketers - 14 from West Indies and 12 from overseas. Pool B included six international and over 100 local players, a few of whom have represented West Indies. Under-23 players from across the Caribbean islands made up Pool C.

A head coach, assistant coach, one West Indian and one international player, designated as 'franchise players' (who are among the 15 in each squad) made up the team's selection committee, and was in charge of strategies for the draft. These franchise players were not part of the three pools and were appointed to each team by the league.

Apart from the two franchise players, each team could pick four players from Pool A, seven players from Pool B and two from Pool C. Players selected from Pool C have to be under 23 years of age before September 1, 2013. However, five of the six franchises picked just three international players instead of four. Jamaica was the only one that picked four international cricketers.

A total of 24 matches will be played in the competition that starts on 30 July and ends on August 24.

Antigua and Barbuda: Marlon Samuels, Ricky Ponting, Kieran Powell, Johnson Charles, Kemar Roach, Steven Smith, Sheldon Cotterell, Dave Mohammed, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge, Justin Kemp, Rakheem Cornwall, Jahmar Hamilton, Anthony Martin, Montcin Hodge.

Barbados: Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Shakib Al Hasan, Umar Akmal, Jason Holder, Shannon Gabriel, Rayad Emrit, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Kyle Mayes, Devendra Bishoo, Kirk Edwards, Ramon Reifer.

Guyana: Sunil Narine, Mohammad Hafeez, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, James Franklin, Christopher Barnwell, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, William Perkins, Steven Jacobs, Ronsford Beaton, Trevon Griffith, Narsingh Deonarine, Veerasammy Permaul.

Jamaica: Chris Gayle, Muttiah Muralitharan, Andre Russell, Ravi Rampaul, Shaun Marsh, Vernon Philander, Danza Hyatt, Carlton Baugh, Nikita Miller, Jacques Rudolph, Chadwick Walton, Jermaine Blackwood, Akeem Dewar, Dave Bernard, Nkrumah Bonner.

St. Lucia: Darren Sammy, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Tino Best, Tamim Iqbal, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher, Garey Mathurin, Liam Sebastien, Dalton Polius, Kavem Hodge, Kenroy Peters, Nelon Pascal.

Trinidad & Tobago: Dwayne Bravo, Ross Taylor, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Aaron Finch, Samuel Badree, Kevon Cooper, Kevin O'Brien, Sulieman Benn, Adrian Barath, Delorn Johnson, Nicholas Pooran, Yannick Cariah, Miguel Cummins, Justin Guillen.