Sreesanth has been named in Kerala's squad for this year's Ranji Trophy season after missing out last year following a disagreement with the Kerala Cricket Association. Sreesanth had criticised the KCA and suggested he wanted to shift to a different team before pledging his loyalty to his home state. The KCA sought an explanation from him and ended up not picking him in the squad for the 2010-11 season. This year Sreesanth returns to the XV but not in the captaincy role which he held in the 2009-10 season.

VA Jagadeesh will be the captain for the 2011-12 season in which Kerala will continue to compete in the Plate League, the second tier of the Ranji Trophy. There are a total of five changes in their squad from last season. One of the additions to this year's XV is Sachin Baby, the 21-year-old left-hand batsman, who has also been named vice-captain. Allrounder Raiphi Gomez and batsman Robert Fernandez, who were captain and vice-captain respectively last season, remain in the squad but not in leadership roles.

The three other new players in the squad for this year are 22-year-old offspinner Mohammad Sanuth, who has only played one first-class match, and wicketkeepers Sunil Thomas and Sanju Samson, who have only represented Kerala in Twenty20s so far.

Perumparambath Anthaf, Sreekumar Nair, Chinnan Ramesh, CP Rizwan and Chandra Tejas are the players from last year's squad not included this year.

Kerala's first match of the Ranji season is again Vidarbha in Nagpur from November 3.

Kerala squad: VA Jagadeesh (captain), Sachin Baby (vice captain, Sreesanth, Sunil thomas(wicketkeeper), Robert Fernandez, Raiphi Gomez, Rohan Prem, Abhishek Hegde, KJ Rakesh, KR Sreejith, P Prasanth, Sanju Samson, Mohammad Sanuth. Sony Cheruvathur, Prasanth Parameswaran