Curtly Ambrose will miss the West Indian tour of New Zealand, due to commence early next month.

Suffering from an elbow injury incurred during October's Sharjah tournament, the 36 year-old veteran was left out of the sixteen-man touring party announced by the WICB on Thursday. In a press release the WICB said that they felt Ambrose "could not return to full fitness and match readiness in time for the tour".

Franklyn Rose's return to favour is complete with his reinstatement to the West Indian squad. Leg-spinner Dinanath Ramnarine returns after a year out of the international game with a shoulder injury. Twenty year-old Darren Ganga is a surprise selection, having not played for the WI since the disastrous South African tour last season.

Jimmy Adams has been chosen subject to a fitness test while Corey Collymore was not considered due to a back injury.

The squad is: Brian Lara (capt), Sherwin Campbell, Adrian Griffith, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jimmy Adams, Wavell Hinds, Ricardo Powell, Ridley Jacobs, Nehemiah Perry, Courtney Walsh, Pedro Collins, Mervyn Dillon, Dinanath Ramnarine, Reon King, Franklyn Rose, Darren Ganga.

As part of his comeback from injury, Jimmy Adams will captain West Indies A in their first unofficial test against India A, beginning at Port of Spain on November 19. The team is: Jimmy Adams (captain), Darren Ganga, Brenton Parchment, Sylvester Joseph, Ryan Hinds, Chris Gayle, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lincoln Roberts, Wayne Phillip, Rawl Lewis, Nixon McLean, Dwight Mais, Goldwyn Prince, Rodney Sookal.

India A's first tour match begins Saturday.