Rubel Hossain, who was a key member of Bangadesh's pace attack during the 2015 World Cup, has been left out of the BCB's list of contracted players for 2016. Rubel has been troubled by injuries in recent months, and has not played for Bangladesh in any format since July 2015.

Apart from Rubel, the BCB also omitted opening batsman Anamul Haque and fast bowler Shafiul Islam from its list of contracted players.

In place of these three, the BCB awarded contracts to Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman and Mustafizur Rahman. All three have made big strides in international cricket over the past year, with Sarkar and Sabbir establishing themselves as opener and finisher in Bangladesh's limited-overs batting line-ups and Mustafizur enjoying a dream debut season that culminated in his selection in the ICC ODI team of the year.

List of contracted players for 2016: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taijul Islam, Mashrafe Mortaza, Al-Amin Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman.