When we began putting together our decade-review package for the 2010s, quite a few key themes emerged. Steven Smith had dominated the second half of the decade in Test cricket, Dale Steyn was on top of the world for the best part of the first half. AB de Villiers' brilliance meant he made it to all three of our men's decade-ender XIs across formats, despite not finishing it as an international cricketer.

But Virat Kohli's march into all-time great territory in limited-overs cricket was perhaps the biggest stand-out among them all. He did so while averaging over 50 in Test cricket, and in all, comfortably finished as the decade's leading international run-getter. True to form (and statistics), he was a near-unanimous pick by our staffers for ESPNcricinfo's men's cricketer of the 2010s, with Smith a not-so-close second. de Villiers finished in third position.

Your votes have somewhat reflected that, with Kohli, Smith and de Villiers all part of our men's semi-final line-up, and MS Dhoni's mass appeal carrying him all the way to the final, where he finished second to Kohli.

On the women's side, there was a closer contest between two of the game's greatest superstars, Ellyse Perry and Meg Lanning, with Perry winning our staffers' vote for ESPNcricinfo's women's cricketer of the decade. It is a title that should cause few arguments, given her all-round dominance across internationals and domestic competitions. Lanning's batting has set new benchmarks in the women's game, but Perry's talismanic ability to impact games with both bat and ball mean she stands out as the game's leading cricketer.

Mithali Raj, India's ODI captain and the 50-over game's leading run-getter of all time, finished third behind the two Australians. Raj and Perry battled it out in the final of our readers' poll, with Raj winning that one comfortably.

More in the decade in review, 2010-19