Matches (12)
ENG v NZ (1)
IRE v IND (1)
WI v BDESH (1)
Ranji Trophy (1)
IND in ENG (1)
County DIV1 (4)
County DIV2 (3)

Chanderpaul and Hinds set the records straight

A statistical analysis of West Indies' performance against South Africa in the first Test

Bhavika Jhaveri

Shivnarine Chanderpaul led from the front to take West Indies to a commanding position © Getty Images
  • It was a perfect start to the series for West Indies, with several records being broken on the second day of the first Test in Georgetown. Thrust into the role of captaincy due to the absence of Brian Lara and Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul rose to the occasion in style. Chanderpaul's 203 made him just the second player to score a double-hundred in his first Test in charge. Graham Dowling achieved a similar feat for New Zealand in 1967-68, scoring 239 against India at Christchurch, in a match New Zealand won the match by six wickets. This was also Chanderpaul's best in Tests, surpassing his previous best knock of 140 against India at the same venue in 2002. He also made 140 against India at Calcutta in 2002-03.
  • It was a memorable comeback for Wavell Hinds, who had last played a Test 14 months back. His 213 put an end to his miserable record against South Africa - his last 14 innings against them had fetched only 192 at 13.71. Hinds's knock was also the highest by a West Indian against South Africa, surpassing Lara's 202 in 2003-04.
  • West Indies amassed a mammoth total of 543 for 5 declared which is their highest total against South Africa. The previous highest was 427 made in the third Test at Cape Town in the 2003-04 series.
  • The last time two West Indian batsmen recorded double centuries in the same innings was in 1957-58 when Garry Sobers (365 not out) and Conrad Hunte (260) belted Pakistan at Kingston. In all, there have been 11 instances of two batsmen scoring double-centuries in one innings of a Test match.
  • The 284-run partnership between Hinds and Chanderpaul was also the highest-ever against South Africa for any wicket. The previous best was 174 between Chris Gayle and Ramnaresh Sarwan at Centurion in 2003-04 series.
  • Bhavika Jhaveri is editorial assistant of Cricinfo