Chris Gayle and Sunil Narine have refused the annual retainer contracts offered to them by the WICB, while it would appear Kieron Pollard wasn't offered one by the board. The contracts are for the period between October 1 2014 and September 30 2015.
Dwayne Bravo, who along with Pollard was left out of West Indies' squad for the 2015 World Cup, is among the 12 contracted players. The contracts were approved at a WICB board meeting in Antigua on Saturday.
"Selection for central retainer contracts was done on the basis of player performance in the various formats, with Test cricket being the premier format followed by one-day internationals and twenty20 internationals," the WICB said in a release.
Gayle had accepted a WICB contract in 2014 for the first time in three years, though Pollard had not been given one last year either. In 2010, Gayle, Bravo and Pollard had refused retainer contracts.
List of contracted players: Sulieman Benn, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jason Holder, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor