Matches (24)
IPL (3)
Pakistan vs New Zealand (2)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
WI 4-Day (2)
ACC Premier Cup (2)
WT20 WC QLF (Warm-up) (5)
PAK v WI [W] (1)
ESPNcricinfo Awards

ESPNcricinfo Awards 2008

The second edition of the ESPNcricinfo Awards, for performances in calendar year 2007



Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn, Sanath Jayasuriya and Ajantha Mendis are the winners of the ESPNcricinfo Awards for 2008.
The ESPNcricinfo Awards comprise two unique sets of awards - one subjective, voted on by a jury, the other based on numbers. The nominees were announced in the first week of January.
The Jury Awards pay tribute to the best individual performances in Tests and ODIs during calendar year 2008. (Twenty20 was not included this year, since there were not many internationals played.) ESPNcricinfo's expert panel - comprising some of the world's most discerning observers of the game, including our own leading cricket writers - voted on shortlists compiled by the site's editorial staff.

The winners

Test batting performance of the year: Virender Sehwag 201 not out vs Sri Lanka, Galle
Test bowling performance of the year: Dale Steyn 5 for 67 vs Australia, Melbourne
ODI batting performance of the year: Sanath Jayasuriya 125 vs India, Asia Cup final, Karachi
In Karachi, Jayasuriya took on all of India
ODI bowling performance of the year: Ajantha Mendis 6 for 13 vs India, Asia Cup final, Karachi
Readers' choice awards:Sachin Tendulkar trumps Virender Sehwag

The nominees

Test batting nominees: Virender Sehwag sizzles, Graeme Smith stays solid
Test bowling nominees: Ryan Sidebottom hammers New Zealand, Dale Steyn masters Australia
ODI batting nominees: Sanath and Yuvraj counterattack, Tendulkar overpowers Australia
ODI bowling nominees: Mendis spins magic in Karachi, Mashrafe creates history in Mirpur
Part two, the Statsguru Awards, is based on hard data. Going beyond the usual look at runs scored, wickets taken, or batting average, the Statsguru Awards are the result of detailed data analyses of performances in 2008.
Which batsman played more consistently than any other over the entire year? Who got the highest percentage of his runs in boundaries? Who was the best bowler in the third and fourth innings? Cricinfo's ball-by-ball data analysis of every international game has answers to these queries and more. The Statsguru Awards are based on these stats. The results originate from quantitative analyses of performance throughout the year, which makes these awards definitive and distinctive.
ESPNcricinfo Awards: 2007