At Sharjah, October 25. Pakistan won by 72 runs. Toss: India. Pakistan set up victory with the highest score of the tournament, and made sure of it through Aqib Javed's hat-trick. It was the seventh in limited-overs internationals, and his figures of seven for 37 were the best in all such cricket. He initiated India's collapse in his first over, dismissing Sidhu, but the fatal blows were struck in his third, as Shastri, Azharuddin and Tendulkar were lbw to the third, fourth and fifth balls. Aqib's performance overshadowed his colleagues' earlier exploits: Zahid Fazal and Salim Malik added 171 for the third wicket; Zahid had hit eight fours and a six in 120 balls when he was carried off the field with cramp.

Man of the Match: Aqib Javed. Man of the Series: S. V. Manjrekar.