Matches (10)
AFG v IRE (1)
Nepal Tri-Nation (1)
WCL 2 (1)
CWC Play-off (3)
PSL 2024 (1)
BPL 2024 (1)
WPL (1)
Durham in ZIM (1)

Danni Wyatt called up for T20I leg of England Women's series against India

Mady Villiers returns to national squad as Lauren Winfield-Hill and Kate Cross miss out on selection

Matt Roller
Matt Roller
Danni Wyatt is likely to open the batting  •  Getty Images

Danni Wyatt is likely to open the batting  •  Getty Images

Danni Wyatt has been included in England Women's T20I squad for their upcoming series against India, after being left out for both the one-off Test and the ODI series.
Wyatt has not made an international half-century since December 2019 and struggled to make an impact during the winter tour to New Zealand, with a top score of 33 across six innings. But she has been in good form for the Southern Vipers in domestic cricket this season, making fifties in her first three innings of the summer in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy and a quickfire 45 against Central Sparks in the opening game of the Charlotte Edwards Cup, and has been rewarded with an international recall.
Wyatt is likely to open the batting alongside Tammy Beaumont, with Lauren Winfield-Hill omitted from the 14-player squad and made available for the Northern Diamonds' Charlotte Edwards Cup fixture against the Western Storm this weekend.
Kate Cross, who took seven wickets at 13.57 in the ODI series, has also been left out, while Mady Villiers returns after being cut from the initial 16-player squad for the ODIs. Emily Arlott and Issy Wong, the Sparks seamers, both miss out on selection, as does Georgia Elwiss, the Vipers allrounder.
Lisa Keightley, England's head coach, said: "We've played some good cricket across both the Test and the ODIs and we've named a strong squad for the T20I series. It's 6-4 in the multi-format series and it's a series we're pushing hard to win.
"We probably weren't quite at our best in the third ODI so I'd like us to hit the ground running in the first T20I and be ruthless."
England squad: Heather Knight (captain), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Fran Wilson, Danni Wyatt
Fixtures: 1st T20I (Northampton) - July 9, 2nd T20I (Hove) - July 11, 3rd T20I (Chelmsford) - July 14

Matt Roller is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @mroller98