The disappointing aspect of the Vinoo Mankad Trophy (under-16) matches played in Calcutta over the weekend were the number of lop sided games. Only one match out of ten had a close finish. Another feature was the large number of extras conceded in most of the matches.

Riding on an opening stand of 96 runs between P Kanishkar (58) and skipper N Vetrivel (60), Tamil Nadu defeated Daman & Diu by 80 runs. Batting first, Tamil Nadu scored 180 for 6 in 25 overs. While Vetrivel hit six fours, the more aggressive Kanishkar hit ten fours. In reply Daman & Diu were all out for 100 in 17 overs, the total being boosted by as many as 30 extras.

Valuable knocks by skipper Naveen Kumar (48 with seven fours) and Manjunath (57 with four fours and four sixes) and their second wicket partnership of 92 runs was the highlight of Karnataka's six wicket victory over Chandigarh. Batting first, Chandigarh were restricted to 159 for seven in 25 overs. Karnataka were home with 1.3 overs to spare.

Uttar Pradesh scored a facile 92 run win over Punjab. Batting first, UP hit up 216 for five in only 21 overs. Pankaj Pandey (90 with 14 fours and a six) and Bashant Kant Sharma (64 with ten fours and two sixes) and their second wicket stand of 132 runs from only 12.5 overs featured the innings. Punjab in reply could score only 124 runs in 22.2 overs with Gurpreet top scoring with 46.

Assam were comfortable winners over Goa by 66 runs. Put in to bat, Assam hit 156 for eight in 25 overs while Goa were restricted to 90 for eight in 25 overs.

Delhi were runaway victors by 144 runs against Gujarat. Winning the toss, Delhi hit up 235 for five in 25 overs. Anshul Lamba (53 not out) and Kailash Rawat (48) boosted the score with a breezy fifth wicket partnership of 89 runs. Both batsmen hit five fours and three sixes. Gujarat in reply were shot out for 91 in 20.2 overs.

Bihar defeated Kerala by 44 runs. Put in to bat, Bihar were all out for 163 in 23.3 overs with opener Pankaj Kumar Ranjan (52 with five fours and a six) and skipper Roshan Kumar (32) sharing a third wicket stand of 79 runs in 11.3 overs. As many as 36 extras boosted the total. In reply, Kerala were all out for 119 in 25 overs with extras (39) being the top scorer.

A total of 85 extras featured the match between Maharashtra and Punjab which was won by the latter by 38 runs. Winning the toss, Punjab scored 167 for six in 25 overs with 41 extras boosting the score. In reply Maharashtra were all out for 129 in 23 overs, their score being inflated by 44 extras.

Opener Vikram Singh hit a breezy 117 in 99 minutes as Haryana overwhelmed Orissa by 118 runs. Winning the toss, Haryana hit 250 for five in 25 overs at a rate of ten an over. Vikram Singh led the way hitting 14 fours and four sixes. With Narender Kumar (67 in 41 minutes with seven fours and four sixes) he added 116 runs for the third wicket. Orissa succumbed without a fight being bowled out for 132 in 22.3 overs. Even this total was boosted by as many as 44 extras.

Gujarat completed a facile eight wicket victory over Goa. Winning the toss, Goa were restricted to 128 for seven in 25 overs, a total inflated by 33 extras. Gujarat with opener R Bhosle (58 not out with nine fours and a six) were home in just 16.1 overs.

In the only match that had a close finish, Chandigarh defeated Andhra by 15 runs. Winning the toss, Chandigarh hit 171 for eight in 24 overs and then restricted Andhra to 156 for nine in 25 overs.