At Durban, May 20, 2009 (floodlit). Chennai Super Kings won by 24 runs. Toss: Chennai Super Kings. Chennai Super Kings 116-9 (20 overs) (P. A. Patel 32); Kings XI Punjab 92-8 (20 overs). Chennai Super Kings 2 pts. Man of the Match: M. Muralitharan.

Sreesanth's ecstatic celebrations after dismissing Badrinath and Dhoni in the space of three balls were a highlight of Chennai's innings. Punjab's hopes were high after restricting their opponents to 116, but again there were twists in the plot: Dhoni had included an extra off-spinner to counter Punjab's many left-handers, and it paid off as Muralitharan (4-0-8-2), Raina (4-0-17-2) and Ravichandran Ashwin (4-0-13-2) choked the life out of the batsmen. Only Luke Pomersbach (26) and Irfan Pathan (14) reached double figures as Chennai confirmed their semi-final place.