WCL Americas Region Division Four

Mexico 242 (Sharma 72, Ahuja 53, Sherman 41; Clapp 5 for 34) beat Falkland Islands 31 (Collina 8*; Gupta 6 for 13, Sharma 2 for 10) by 211 runs

Mexico clinched the ICC Americas WCL Division 4 title with a resounding victory over the Falkland Islands by 211 runs on Thursday at the Reforma Athletic Club in Naucalpan, Mexico.

The Falklands won the toss and elected to field, perhaps to give their batsmen time to recover from the celebrations following their victory over Costa Rica a day earlier. However, Falkland’s fielders struggled from the outset, dropping ten catches in the first twenty overs alone.

Given so many opportunities, Mexico threatened to post a mammoth total, reaching 153 for 2 in the 25th over. But the Falkland bowlers led by Kevin Clapp struck back to dismiss Mexico for 242 in 44 overs. Clapp bowled his slow drifters from the southern end with great effect to claim career-best figures of 5 for 34 for from six overs.

The Mexican innings was built around the top four batsmen: Tarun Sharma led the way with 72 from 84 balls, smashing a total of 12 fours. He got good support from Kaushal Ahuja, who made 53 from 38 balls, with his fifty coming of just 35 balls, and Roger Sherman, who made 41 from 60.

Chasing a big total requires a carefully executed plan, but the Falkland batsmen appeared uncertain about what was required of them. With rain looming, none of the bastmen reached double figures as the Falklands were bowled out inside twenty overs. Tushar Gupta, the Mexican captain, took 6 for 13 with his left arm spin, bamboozling the Falkland’s batsmen and securing the championship for the host team.