Michael Clarke has been named an Officer (AO) and Lyn Larsen a Member (AM) in the general division of the Order of Australia in the Queen's latest birthday honours list.

Clarke was recognised for "distinguished service to cricket as a player at the national and international level, through leadership roles, and to the community". He played 115 Tests, 245 ODIs and 34 T20Is and retired in 2015 as the fourth-highest run-getter for his country in both Tests and ODIs. He was the captain when Australia whitewashed England 5-0 in 2013-14 to regain the Ashes. Under him, Australia also won the 2015 ODI World Cup.

In an Instagram post, Clarke thanked his family, friends and team-mates for their support throughout his career.

Larsen, the former Australia Women allrounder, was honoured "for significant service to cricket as a player, selector, manager and coach at the elite level". She played 15 Tests and 49 ODIs from 1984 to 1992 and led Australia to the 1988 ODI World Cup title. Larsen was instrumental in the integration of the International Women's Cricket Council with the ICC as well.

More than 20 Australian cricketers have received Order of Australia honours to date, including Donald Bradman, Allan Border, Steve Waugh, Mark Taylor, Belinda Clark, Glenn McGrath, Matthew Hayden, Dennis Lillee, Bob Simpson, Keith Miller, Justin Langer, Ricky Ponting, Alan Davidson and Dean Jones.