Matches (12)
BBL (1)
IND v NZ (1)
SA v ENG (1)
BPL 2023 (2)
ZIM v WI (1)
ILT20 (2)
SA Tri-Series (1)
Ranji Trophy (1)
Super Smash (1)
Super Smash (W) (1)

No changes to Indian squad

India have retained the same squad for the first three ODIs against South Africa

Cricinfo staff

India have retained a winning combination © Getty Images
India have retained the same squad for the first three ODIs against South Africa after giving Sri Lanka a 6-1 hiding in the one-day series. VRV Singh, the Punjab fast bowler, has been sidelined for two-and-a-half weeks because of an ankle injury.
VRV Singh was originally picked as Jai Prakash Yadav's replacement for the last two matches against Sri Lanka but it was later discovered that he was suffering from an inversion injury to his left ankle with associated bruising. Yadav, who was then recalled as VRV Singh's replacement, has another chance against South Africa to stake his claim to a one-day spot.
Sourav Ganguly, who was initially injured for the first two ODIs against Sri Lanka and was subsequently dropped for the rest of the series, did not find a place in the squad. Ganguly was overlooked in spite of making 117 against North Zone in a Duleep Trophy match at Rajkot. However, in his next innings, he made just 14 against Zimbabwe Board President's XI.
Ganguly did his cause no favours today after Zaheer Khan bowled him for a duck in the first innings of the Duleep Trophy final against West Zone at Ahmedabad. Zaheer also did not earn a recall even after tallying 19 wickets to date in the Duleep Trophy .
Squad for the first three ODIs against South Africa
Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid (capt), Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, S Sreesanth, RP Singh, JP Yadav