Ricky Ponting: leading the ODI dream team © Getty Images
Australia's captain, Ricky Ponting, has been selected to lead the ICC's World ODI Team of the Year for the second year in a row, having been named in the side for third year running.
The honorary eleven was unveiled during the ICC Awards ceremony at The Westin Hotel in Dubai, after being chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend, Clive Lloyd.
The team, in batting order is:
Herschelle Gibbs (SA)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Ricky Ponting (Aus, capt)
Younis Khan (Pak)
Andrew Symonds (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, wk)
Farveez Maharoof (SL)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Brett Lee (Aus)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Nathan Bracken (Aus)
12th man: Salman Butt (Pak)
Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and two players - Ricky Ponting of Australia and India's Sachin Tendulkar - also appeared in the World ODI Team of the Year in 2007. Ponting appeared in the ODI Team of the Year for 2006 as well, while Andrew Symonds had previously been named in the 2005 team.
The presentations were made by the ICC chief match referee, Ranjan Madugalle. Clive Lloyd, the chairman of the selection panel, said he felt the chosen team was full of variation and depth, with potential match-winners in every department.
Lloyd was joined on the panel by the former Australia captain, Greg Chappell, the recently retired South Africa allrounder Shaun Pollock, the former Sri Lanka opener Sidath Wettimuny, and the former Bangladesh batsman Athar Ali Khan. Statistics were available as a guide, but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.
The ICC ODI Team of the Year was one of two teams selected by the ICC selection panel along with the Test line-up. There were also eight individual prizes given at this year's ICC Awards.