Delhi's Unmukt Chand has been named captain of the India Under-19 squad for the quadrangular series in Visakhapatnam replacing Maharashtra's Ankit Bawne, who was named captain at the time of the announcement of the squad on September 18. A release from the BCCI stated there was a discrepancy between Bawne's date of birth as mentioned in the BCCI's database and his passport, following which he was omitted from the squad.

Chand made his Ranji Trophy debut last season, and scored a century against Railways in his fourth match. An aggressive opener, he was signed by Delhi Daredevils for the IPL but played only two games. Karnataka's Shreyas Gopal was included in the squad in place of Bawne.

Jharkhand's Kumar Deobrat is the vice-captain while Sandeep Sharma from Punjab and Mumbai's Harmeet Singh are the only two players in the squad who were at the Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand last year, when India finished sixth.

Harmeet, a left-arm spinner, impressed in his first two Ranji Trophy matches in 2009-10, taking 12 wickets, and then bagged his first five-for in the 2010-11 season. Also in the squad is Delhi left-arm spinner Vikas Mishra, who took 18 wickets in the 2010-11 Ranji season. Deobrat score 191 runs at an average of 63.66 and strike-rate of 84.51 during Jharkhand's successful campaign in the 2010-11 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The tournament will also feature Under-19 teams from Australia, West Indies and Sri Lankato and will be be played between September 27 and October 9.

Squad: Unmukt Chand (captain), Kumar Deobrat (vice-captain), Akhil Herwadkar, Baba Apparajith, Hanuma Vihari, Smit Patel, Akshdeep Nath, Vikas Mishra, Harmeet Singh, Kamal Passi, Rush Kalaria, Mohsin Sayyad, Sandeep Sharma, Manan Vohra, Shreyas Gopal