The South Australian Cricket Association (SACA) has congratulated Redbacks all-rounder Ryan Harris for winning the 2003 Bradman Medal for district cricketer of the year at an awards ceremony at Adelaide Oval tonight (March 26).

Harris who plays grade cricket for Northern Districts, polled 27 votes, two ahead of Kensington bowler Jamie Panelli on 25 votes and six votes ahead of medal favourite, University's Nathan Adcock who polled 21 votes.

Harris played eight games for Northern Districts, scoring 360 runs at an average of 40, and took 24 wickets at an average of 11.75.

The SACA's cricket operations manager, Harvey Jolly said that Harris was a very worthy winner of the umpire-voted award.

"Ryan is an outstanding, true all-rounder. He is a skillful batsman, talented bowler and is brilliant in the field, and he has all the signs of having a successful first-class career, and the attributes to succeed at the highest level of the game."

"At just 23, Ryan has a lot of cricket ahead of him and injury was really his only obstacle from succeeding in the State team this season," said Mr Jolly.

The West End Cup player of the series award was won, in a tie, by Lachlan Stevens from Adelaide and Dean Waugh from Kensington. Both players polled 10 votes each.

Winning the Coca-Cola Team Award for the team which polled the most player votes in the Bradman Medal count was Kensington, on 90 votes, with Northern Districts just three votes behind in second place on 87 votes.

The C.W. Walker Memorial Trophy for most outstanding wicket-keeper was awarded to Justin Creek from West Torrens, and the Talbot Smith Fielding Trophy went to University's Simon Williamson.

The annual awards night also named the Coach of the Year, which this year went to Glenelg coach Mark Sorell.