Queensland will take a new-look selection panel into the 2003-04 cricket season.

The Board of Queensland Cricket has ratified the appointment of Dirk Tazelaar, Ray Phillips and Ken Dixon to the 2003-04 panel following a decision by last season's chairman Andrew Courtice and Paul Jackson not to stand for the coming season.

The panel will decide on a chairman at their first meeting next week.

Tazelaar, the former Queensland left-arm pace bowler, has been a selector for the past three seasons while Phillips and Dixon will make their first appearance on the State panel.

Phillips is a former Queensland wicket-keeper who played 68 Shield matches between 1979-80 and 1985-86 after previously representing NSW in the 1978-79 season.

In all, he played 78 first class matches for Queensland, taking 263 dismissals. He toured England with the 1985 Ashes team, playing in seven matches but no Tests.

Dixon, a level three coach, has had a distinguished career as a player, administrator and coach with leading club Sandgate-Redcliffe.

He was club coach during the team's string of four first grade premierships in five years between 1997 and 2002. He remains the all-time leading wicket-taker with Sandgate-Redcliffe, taking 630 wickets during his career.