Shivnarine Chanderpaul missed the camp in Antigua because of his commitments with Durham © Getty Images

The 17 players who will form the Stanford Superstars Twenty20 squad and compete for US$20 million in the winner-takes-all match against England on November 1 have been named. The squad includes Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Dwayne Bravo, as well as notable performers from the Stanford Twenty20 domestic tournament.

"We [the Stanford Superstars selection panel] believe this squad is very capable of doing justice to their selection to the Stanford Superstars squad to face England for the unprecedented purse of US$20million," Viv Richards, the chairman of the selection panel, said.

"There are several familiar faces in this Stanford Superstars squad, but there are some exciting new additions such as Lindon James, Lionel Baker and Chad Hampson. This was due to the fact that there were some high quality performances from these individuals in the Stanford 20/20 Tournaments and they were also very impressive in the just concluded Stanford Superstars camp."

Thirty one out of 32 probables participated in a two-week camp in Antigua. Chanderpaul was excused because of his county commitments with Durham but was eligible for selection. The 17 players were presented with contracts and have 14 days to confirm their participation in the tournament.

The selection panel comprising Richards, Everton Weekes, Curtly Ambrose, Lance Gibbs, Richie Richardson, Andy Roberts and Courtney Walsh will meet at a later date to select the captain and vice captain.

Squad Lionel Baker (Montserrat), Sulieman Benn (Barbados), Dwayne Bravo (Trinidad and Tobago), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (Guyana), Lennox Cush (Guyana), Rayad Emrit (Trinidad and Tobago), Andre Fletcher (Grenada), Chris Gayle (Jamaica), Chad Hampson (Antigua and Barbuda), Lindon James (St Vincent and the Grenadines), Sylvester Joseph (Antigua and Barbuda), Xavier Marshall (Jamaica), Dave Mohammed (Trinidad and Tobago), Kieron Pollard (Trinidad and Tobago), Daren Powell (Jamaica), Ramnaresh Sarwan (Guyana), Jerome Taylor (Jamaica).