Sports Minister CB Ratnayake, despite accusing Sri Lanka Cricket as the third most corrupt institution in the country and slamming the board's interim committee, retained Somachandra de Silva and Nishantha Ranatunga as chairman and secretary respectively while appointing three new members to the committee on Wednesday.

Former cricketer and Sri Lanka rugby player Asanga Seneviratne, lawyer Kalinga Indratissa and Sports Ministry representative Prabath Fonseka are the three new members appointed. They replace Pramodya Wickramasinghe, A. Gunaratne Weerasinghe, Lalith Wickremasinghe and Ranil Abeynaike. Sujeewa Rajapakse continues as treasurer of the six-member interim committee.

Ratnayake, who appointed Aravinda de Silva as the head of a new selection panel, in a media conference on Monday, had promised to revamp the way the game is administered, even if it meant replacing the incumbent members. Ratnayake had said he had a problem with the way the interim committee had handled finances and contributed to wastage of resources.