Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed Pakistan's full tour of the country in June and July. Two of the three Tests were originally set to be played in Colombo, but in a late change, Pallekele Stadium will now host the third Test, instead of the R Premadasa Stadium. The other Tests will be played in Galle, and at the P Sara Oval.

The five-ODI series is set to begin in Dambulla on July 11, with matches also scheduled for Pallekele, Colombo and Hambantota. The T20s that will cap the tour are both scheduled for the Premadasa Stadium. The first four ODIs have reserve days, and all except the match in Dambulla, are expected to be day-night encounters.

Pakistan will also play a three-day encounter at Colombo Colts Cricket Club to prepare for the series. They had lost their last Test series on the island 0-2, in mid-2014. The forthcoming tour will be the sixth bilateral series between these two teams in six years, and the third Test series in 18 months.