Maharashtra batsman Vijay Zol has been named captain of the India Under-19 squad for the Tri-nation Under-19 Tournament in Australia, which will begin on June 30.

Zol and Mumbai batsman Akhil Herwadkar are the only two players in the squad who were a part of the squad at the U-19 World Cup last year, which India won.

Zol hit the headlines when he scored an unbeaten 451 during a domestic U-19 match in 2011. During the U-19 World Cup, Zol scored 151 runs in six matches at an average of 25.16. He has scored 272 runs in seven List A matches at an average of 36.

Kerala wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, who was part of the Under-19 team for the Asia Cup in 2012, also made the squad. He had had a good domestic season in the limited-overs format, scoring 222 runs in seven games at an average of 37.00 in the Vijay Hazare Trophy and then doing well in the IPL with 206 runs in 11 games.

The tournament will also feature U-19 teams from Australia and New Zealand.

India Under-19 squad: Vijay Zol (capt), Sanju Samson (vice-capt & wk), Akhil Herwadkar, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Saif, Sarfaraz Khan, Ricky Bhui, Abhimanyu Lamba, Rishi Arothe, Atul Singh, CV Milind, Aamir Gani, Kuldeep Yadav, Ankush Bains (wk)