Tino la Bertram Best: recalled for his second Test © Getty Images
West Indies have named a 13-man squad for the first Test against England, which starts at Sabina Park in Kingston on Thursday (1505 GMT). The side includes two unrelated Smiths - Devon of Grenada and Dwayne of Barbados - but Dave Mohammed, the only specialist spinner named last week in the preliminary squad of 16, misses out.
The other two players cut from the original squad are Dwight Washington, the 21-year-old Jamaican paceman whose bowling action has been the subject of some discussion, and the reserve wicketkeeper Carlton Baugh.
Barring a last-minute change of heart, Brian Lara will have a four-man pace attack under his command at Sabina. The quartet of Tino Best, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards and Adam Sanford is fairly inexperienced, although all of them have a few Tests under their belt. Best has only played once before - against Australia in his native Barbados last year, when he failed to take a wicket. Ryan Hinds, the Barbados allrounder, can bowl left-arm spin - but he has so far failed to take a wicket in his four Test appearances. In any case he and Ricardo Powell appear, on the face of it, to be the likely omissions from the starting XI on Thursday. Ramnaresh Sarwan did send down quite a few overs of loopy legspin in South Africa recently, while Chris Gayle bowls Carl Hooperesque offspin when required.
West Indies squad for first Test
Chris Gayle, Devon Smith, Brian Lara (capt), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Smith, Ricardo Powell, Ryan Hinds, Ridley Jacobs (wk), Adam Sanford, Tino Best, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards.