Zimbabwe won by ten runs. ‡Zimbabwe 145-7 (20 overs) (C. J. Chibhabha 67); India 135-9 (20 overs) (R. V. Uthappa 42; A. G. Cremer 3-18). MoM: C. J. Chibhabha. MoS: C. J. Chibhabha. T20I debut: S. V. Samson (India).
Sikandar Raza was handed the captaincy at short notice after an injury to Chigumbura, and injected some much-needed energy into Zimbabwe's cricket, leading them to their first Twenty20 international win in Harare. It was also their first over India in any format since twice humbling them in a home tri-series in 2010. Helped by the absence of Harbhajan Singh, who made way for the debutant Sanju Samson, Chibhabha hit a career-best 67 from 51 balls in an underwhelming total, and Cremer's excellent first spell of 3-0-14-2 suffocated India's middle order. But there was no doubting their inspiration: Sikandar geed up his team and convinced them they could defend a small total. A string of sublime catches and unlikely run-outs followed, Zimbabwe's enthusiasm building with each one. India wilted, tumbling from 57-1 to 69-5 in the space of three overs. Sikandar took no credit, and made no claim on the captaincy, but the identity of Zimbabwe's best leader was now clear.