August 8, 2000

Bushrangers squad announced

The Victorian Cricket Association today announced the contracted Bushrangers cricket squad for season 2000/2001. The Victorian's will be led again by Paul Reiffel and have included seven new contracted players in the squad.

General Manager of Cricket Operations, Shaun Graf, said the new faces reflected a depth of young cricket talent in Victoria. "We have selected a squad that we expect to continue Victoria's significant progress of the previous two seasons. We believe, importantly, that the squad contains a good mix of experience and youth to take us into the future."

The Bushrangers finished second to the Queensland Bulls in last season's Pura Milk Cup and are attempting to wrest Australian cricket's premier domestic trophy for the first time since 1990/1991.

The Squad is as follows;

Jason Arnberger 18/11/72 Richmond
Darren Berry 10/12/69 Northcote
Simon Burriss 15/10/74 St.Kilda
Shawn Craig 23/01/73 St.Kilda
John Davison 09/05/70 St.Kilda
Lea Hansen 03/12/70 Footscray
Laurie Harper 10/12/70 St.Kilda
Shane Harwood 01/03/74 Melbourne
Ian Hewett 24/01/76 Richmond
Brad Hodge 29/12/74 Melbourne
Mathew Inness 13/01/78 Essendon
Michael Klinger 04/07/80 Prahran
Michael Lewis 29/01/74 Northcote
Matthew Mott 03/10/73 Franks-Penin.
Ben Oliver 24/10/79 Geelong
Clinton Peake 25/03/77 Geelong
Paul Reiffel (c) 19/04/66 Richmond
Peter Roach 19/05/75 Haw-Wav
Graeme Vimpani 27/01/72 Camb-Magpies

The Australian Cricket Board has contracted five Victorian Bushranger players;

Matthew Elliott 28/09/71 Camb-Magpies
Damien Fleming 24/04/70 South Melbourne
Ian Harvey 10/04/72 Dandenong
Colin Miller 06/02/64 Footscray
Shane Warne 13/09/69 St.Kilda