ICC awards 2013 December 13, 2013

Michael Clarke gets top ICC honours

ESPNcricinfo staff

Michael Clarke has been named Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year, two of the most prestigious awards annually announced by the ICC. Clarke's wins come despite Australia having a wretched time during a 12-month spell till August, the period over which performances are considered for the awards.

The honours were announced on the first day of Clarke's 100th Test, against England in Perth.They come largely on the basis of his prolific run in Tests, amassing 1559 runs in the voting period, more than 300 better than the next highest, Alastair Cook. His five Test centuries included two double-hundreds and a 187 against England. Over the past year, Australia lost several senior players to retirement, and Clarke needed to guide an inexperienced side besides battling chronic back trouble.

Hashim Amla and James Anderson had been in the running for both prizes. The only other man to be nominated for two main awards and lose was MS Dhoni, who was in the race for Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year.

Previous winners of the Cricketer of the Year award include Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009), Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Jonathan Trott (2011) and Kumar Sangakkara (2011).

This year, Sangakkara was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year - the one major award that he missed out in 2012. He was the leading run-getter in the format, with 956 runs at 63.73 including a career-best 169 against South Africa.

India's Cheteshwar Pujara took the Emerging Cricketer prize. He has only played two ODIs, but he was among five batsmen to score over 1000 Test runs during the voting period, averaging 82.53 with four hundreds in 10 Tests. Though Pujara made his debut back in 2010, he was eligible for the Emerging Player award as he had played less than five Tests at the start of the voting period, and is less than 26 years old.

Ireland's Kevin O'Brien won the Associate and Affiliate award, recognised for his all-round performances in helping Ireland qualify for the 2015 World Cup.

The Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year was New Zealand's Suzie Bates, who topped the charts with 681 runs at 75.66 with two hundreds and five half-centuries in 11 innings. She was also the top run-getter in the women's World Cup in Mumbai early this year. England's Sarah Taylor took home the T20 award.

The other T20 prize went to Pakistan's Umar Gul, for his spell of 5 for 6 against South Africa in Centurion.

The Umpire of the Year award went to England's Richard Kettleborough, just two years after being promoted to the Elite Panel, and four years after his international debut.

Mahela Jayawardene won the Spirit of Cricket award for walking after being caught behind on 91 at a crucial juncture of the Galle Test against New Zealand.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on December 16, 2013, 18:10 GMT

    why is shahid afridi leftout everywhere..isnt that shameful to ignore greatness..what is the justification here..he took 32 wickets as a captain role for pakistan in the last world cup and he was given nothing..isnt that shameful

  • Johann on December 16, 2013, 7:39 GMT

    Dhavan who played all the matches abroad in that time period deserves the ODI player of the year award more than someone who played most of his matches at home.

  • Dummy4 on December 15, 2013, 8:48 GMT

    Why was Saeed Ajmal overlooked as Cricketer of the year. His performance is superlative on wickets which r now catered only for the batsmen.

  • Srinath on December 15, 2013, 5:10 GMT

    Hashim Amla should have been the Cricketer of the YEAR. Michel Clerk is a surprised picked by the so called panel. Amla is getting ignored in-spite of performing well on all formats of the game.

  • Dummy4 on December 14, 2013, 23:56 GMT

    why does cricketor of the year always goes to batsman. What about the bowlers.

  • Stark on December 14, 2013, 22:06 GMT

    Amla is head and shoulders the best batsman across all formats but he keeps getting ignored!!

    These icc awards lost their prestige a long time ago and the fact that, AB wasn't nominated for any award is a ludicrous.

    Also, Ajmal broke the 100 wicket barrier this year (incl. Tests, ODI's and T20's) and that is a phenomenal achievement considering wickets have been batsman friendly and bowlers are getting hammered but he won't be nominated next year for cricketer of the year, let alone winning it.

  • Sunil on December 14, 2013, 19:12 GMT

    Nothing wrong with Clarke getting the award as he is one of the best batters in the world but is he the best? There has to be a screening process in selection and not based on panel favs for the award. Clarke is one I fancy but did he do enough as the top bat playing so many tests against England this year? Don't think so. After playing a few tests and getting uses to England, I have seen the likes of Steve Waugh, Mark Taylor etc went on scoring series of centuries. Given Clarke's opportunities , Sanga and a few others would have done a lot better.

  • kartikeya on December 14, 2013, 12:33 GMT

    Misbah or Chanderpul deserved test player.

  • Thej on December 14, 2013, 11:38 GMT

    Sa have played half the number of tests to australia this year.De villiers averages 80s Amla 70s compared to clarks 50s Both have scored heavily in the one day game. How can you exclude these players I assume because of the limited number of test matches.Whose fault is that. Give these awards only if the playing field is even. A shocking decision especially the cricketer of the year as if the shortened form of the game doesnt exist

  • Lester on December 14, 2013, 10:28 GMT

    Not to take anything away from Clarke, but he was rubbish in England. Great to see Sangakara get the ODI award. No chance with the test award, since he has only played 2 tests this year at a meegre average of 110.25 .

    Why are Sri Lanka playing so few tests??? The ICC need to sort this out.

  • No featured comments at the moment.