Saqlain's hat-trick (12 June 1999)

12 June 1999

Saqlain's hat-trick

Atul Kahate

Saqlain Mushtaq has become the second bowler after Wasim Akram to take two hat-tricks in a LOI career. Also, he is the second after Chetan Sharma to take a World-cup-hat-trick. Interestingly, Saqlain is also the only spinner to take a hat-trick in LOI matches. Overall, this was the 13th hat-trick in LOI cricket, the details of which are as follows:

Sr No Bowler           Teams       Venue         Season

1 Jalal-ud-Din Pak v Aus Hyderabad 1982-83 2 BA Reid Aus v NZ Sydney 1985-86 3 C Sharma Ind v NZ Nagpur 1987-88 4 Wasim Akram Pak v WI Sharjah 1989-90 5 Wasim Akram Pak v Aus Sharjah 1989-90 6 Kapil Dev Ind v SL Calcutta 1990-91 7 Aqib Javed Pak v Ind Sharjah 1991-92 8 DK Morrison NZ v Ind Napier 1993-94 9 Waqar Younis Pak v NZ East London 1994-95 10 Saqlain Mushtaq Pak v Zim Peshawar 1996-97 11 EA Brandes Zim v Eng Harare 1996-97 12 AM Stuart Aus v Pak Melbourne 1996-97 13 Saqlain Mushtaq Pak v Zim The Oval 1999

Contributed by: Atul Kahate (

Source :: Atul Kahate