April 22, 2001

West Indies name 14 man squad for one-day series

West Indies selectors have chosen a squad of 14 players for the first two One-Day Internationals against South Africa. The one-day segment of the current Cable & Wireless Series starts at Sabina Park in Jamaica on Saturday (April 28) and continues at the Antigua Recreation Ground (ARG) on May 2.

The West Indies squad for these matches is as follows:

Carl Hooper (captain), Chris Gayle, Leon Garrick, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brian Lara, Ricardo Powell, Wavell Hinds, Marlon Samuels, Ridley Jacobs, Neil McGarrell, Mervyn Dillon, Cameron Cuffy, Kerry Jeremy and Nixon McLean.

Added to the Test squad have been batting all-rounder Ricardo Powell, fast bowler Kerry Jeremy, and Nixon McLean, who had been dropped from the Test team.

Dinanath Ramnarine has been dropped while Ramnaresh Sarwan is ruled out through injury