England news October 2, 2013

Sibley, Fisher in England Development Programme

ESPNcricinfo staff

Dominic Sibley, the Surrey schoolboy who became the youngest scorer of a Championship double-hundred last week, has been named among England's Under-19 touring party for a tri-series in the UAE during December. Yorkshire's 15-year-old bowler Matthew Fisher was also included in the 18-man squad.

The Under-19s form part of a larger England Development Programme intake for the winter, announced by the ECB. The players selected will take on Pakistan and UAE, ahead of the Under-19 World Cup in February 2014, also to be held in the UAE. The other half of the EDP, formed largely of Under-17s, will take part in training and development camps at Loughborough, with fixtures scheduled against Sri Lanka Under-17s next year.

"This winter will offer great development opportunities for both of these squads of young players," the EDP chairman of selectors, David Graveney, said. "We will have two competitive England Under-19 tours for the players selected to be involved in, which will be an excellent opportunity for development and also the testing of skills of our best young players under tournament pressure in challenging conditions.

"The EDP squad will also have a great opportunity to develop their games at a world class facility at the NCPC in Loughborough, with access to a variety of leading coaches, plus later a training camp in Sri Lanka testing their skills under extremely tough conditions."

England U-19s squad: Tom Barber (Hampshire), Ed Barnard (Worcestershire), Karl Carver (Yorkshire), Joe Clarke (Worcestershire), Ben Duckett (Northamptonshire), Harry Finch (Sussex), Matthew Fisher (Yorkshire), Miles Hammond (Gloucestershire), Ryan Higgins (Middlesex), Robert Jones (Lancashire), Lewis McManus (Hampshire), Rob Sayer (Leicestershire), Will Rhodes (Yorkshire), Josh Shaw (Yorkshire), Dom Sibley (Surrey), Jonny Tattersall (Yorkshire), Kishen Velani (Essex), Jack Winslade (Surrey)

England Development Programme squad: Ben Green (Somerset), Max Holden (Middlesex), Arthur Godsal (Middlesex), Aaron Beard (Essex), Harry Dearden (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Haseeb Hameed (Lancashire), Jared Warner (Yorkshire), Mosun Hussain (Yorkshire) Joe Weatherley (Hampshire), Aneurin Donald (Glamorgan), Simon Walton (Nottinghamshire), Matt Taylor (Northamptonshire), Tom Moores (Leicestershire), Brad Taylor (Hampshire), Anuj Dal (Nottinghamshire), Harvey Hosein (Derbyshire)