IPL 2012

Kolkata Knight Riders sign four new players

ESPNcricinfo staff

March 1, 2012

Comments: 15 | Text size: A | A

Kolkata Knight Riders have signed four cricketers from India's domestic circuit for the upcoming IPL season starting April 4. Debabrata Das, Iresh Saxena, Chirag Jani and Sanju Samson are their latest recruits.

Das, from Bengal, was part of the Knight Riders squad in the 2008 season. A batsman and part-time wicketkeeper, Debabrata has played nine Twenty20 matches, scoring 126 runs at 15.75.

Saxena, a left-arm spinner, also plays for Bengal, has done will in Twenty20 cricket, taking 14 wickets from 13 games at 16.28 and at an economy-rate of 5.47. He is Bengal's highest wicket-taker so far in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, India's domestic Twenty20 tournament.

Jani, 22, has had an excellent debut season with Saurashtra in List A cricket in the Vijay Hazare Trophy , averaging 119 from four games with a highest of an unbeaten 98.

Samson, only 17, is a wicketkeeper-batsman from Kerala.

"Our latest signings continue to reflect our two chosen areas of local players and emerging talent," Venky Mysore, the Knight Riders CEO, said in a release. Debabrata and Iresh grow out commitment and investment in our catchment area of Bengal - and we are really happy that they will get a chance to secure their places in our team.

"Chirag and Sanju represent our investments towards the future, and we know that they have the talent and dedication to significantly contribute to our team one day."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (March 4, 2012, 21:12 GMT)

very happy to see sanju picked by kolkata knight riders...,GOOD LUCK SANJU

Posted by   on (March 4, 2012, 16:09 GMT)

good to see ganguly out of kkr at least now they can play with 11 players.. and god save pune if he plays fo them......

Posted by Aju.Nair on (March 4, 2012, 11:23 GMT)

All the best to Sanju..this boy is a talented cricketer. I believe that KKR will give chance to him in any of their matches.. Best 11 for KKR... 1. Gambhir 2.Mcullum 3. Kallis 4.M.Tiwari 5.Y.Pathan 6.Ten Doeschate 7. Bisla 8.R.Bhatia 9.B.Lee 10. Iqbal Abdulla 11.L.Balaji

Posted by 30-30-150 on (March 4, 2012, 9:02 GMT)

@Jahan1971- Yeah you better rename BPL as Global Premier League.. 5 foreign players!!? LOL when will Bangladesh improve?

Posted by 30-30-150 on (March 4, 2012, 9:00 GMT)

A 17-year old?? You gotta be kidding me!

Posted by santanuXI on (March 3, 2012, 7:28 GMT)

The team needed a good domestic batsman...Debabdrata Das not quiet fits the requirement. LR Shukla and Das can play some strokes but not so consistent and their fielding is not good. Anushtup could have been better choice. Jaggi/ Dheeraj Yadav could have been looked into. In bowling they should have tried for Dinda. The team is based in Kolkata and surprisingly the management is not looking to include the good local talents. They are taking the fringe players just to fill the local quota.

Posted by   on (March 3, 2012, 5:16 GMT)

Decent buys, especially Saxena and Jani. But still Kolkata is weaker than CSK and MI...... I think their best XI is: 1. McCullum 2. Kallis 3. Gambhir 4. Tiwary 5. Y Pathan 6. Morgan/Shakib/Tendo 7. Shukla/Jani 8. Bhatia 9. Iqbal Abdulla 10. Lee/Pattinson/Narine 11. Balaji

Posted by shanmugham_ump_tpt. on (March 3, 2012, 4:45 GMT)

very happy to see sanju samson picked by kkr. avery talented young boy , good athelete and a team player. all the very best to sanju

Posted by Jahan1971 on (March 2, 2012, 14:46 GMT)

BPL is better then IPL .. much more global then IPL

Posted by squarepeg on (March 2, 2012, 12:28 GMT)

Typical KKR. Buy loads of foreign players when only 4 can play. Take in many youngsters and never give them chance. Not keep or trade in performers like Dinda and Saha, and not take Anustup Majumdar. Not planning what will happpen if Gambhir or Tiwary is out of form or can't play. To use a foreign wicketkeeper when there are Kallis, Shakib, Lee, Pattinson and Tendo is to waste one top-class global star.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Series/Tournaments: Indian Premier League
Teams: India
Tournament Results
KKR v Super Kings at Chennai - May 27, 2012
KKR won by 5 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)
Daredevils v Super Kings at Chennai - May 25, 2012
Super Kings won by 86 runs
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Bangalore - May 23, 2012
Super Kings won by 38 runs
Daredevils v KKR at Pune - May 22, 2012
KKR won by 18 runs
Royals v Mum Indians at Jaipur - May 20, 2012
Mum Indians won by 10 wickets (with 12 balls remaining)
Chargers v RCB at Hyderabad (Deccan) - May 20, 2012
Chargers won by 9 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days