IPL 2014 June 2, 2014

The IPL's first three-time champion, and Robin's record

Snapshot of a batting line-up of numbers from IPL 2014

Statistics often help ascertain who should make up a XI, but not often do stats form the XI. Here's a list of 11 quirky numbers from the 2014 IPL season

1 The number of runs Chennai Super Kings seamer Mohit Sharma has scored in his entire T20 career. He scored this run during the second qualifier against Kings XI Punjab. Prior to that game, he had played 38 T20 matches - but batted only three times - without scoring a run.

2 Number of Man-of-the-Match awards Sandeep Sharma won during the five IPL games Kings XI Punjab played in the UAE. His performance in the India leg tapered off to the extent that his bowling average (8.85) and strike-rate (9.40) in the UAE leg were lower than his economy rate (10.01) in the India leg.

3 Number of IPL titles Yusuf Pathan has won. He won the 2008 title with Rajasthan Royals and the 2012 and 2014 titles with Kolkata Knight Riders. He is the only player (among those who have been in the playing XI of their respective teams at least once in the season) with three IPL titles. Six players have two titles while playing for two different IPL teams.

4 Number of wickets Kings XI legspinner Karanveer Singh took in the IPL final . He conceded 54 runs though - the most runs conceded by a bowler who has taken four wickets in a T20 match.

5 Number of consecutive games Kings XI won at the start of the season. Considering they won their final three games last season, they had won eight consecutive matches - an IPL record at the time. However, that mark was beaten by Kolkata Knight Riders' incredible, and yet unbroken, run of nine consecutive wins later in the season.

6 Number of bowlers who have conceded 21 or more sixes in this IPL. In the past six seasons, only one bowler - Piyush Chawla in 2008 - had conceded 21 sixes in a tournament. There were 714 sixes in all during this season, making it only the second season after 2012 where 700+ sixes have been hit. Note that there were 75 matches in the 2012 season and only 60 in this.

7 Number of deliveries Suresh Raina did not hit for a boundary during his 25-ball 87 against Kings XI in the second qualifier. His strike rate of 348 in that innings was the highest for a 50+ innings in the IPL and third highest for a 50+ innings in all T20 cricket. Yuvraj Singh's 16-ball 58 against England in the 2007 World T20 and Kieron Pollard's 15-ball 56* for Trinidad & Tobago against Leeward Islands are the top two entries on the list.

8 Number of runs Chris Gayle needed at the start of this IPL to become the first batsman to 6000 runs in all T20 cricket. He reached the milestone during the 20 he scored in his first game for Royal Challengers, in what was otherwise an ordinary IPL campaign. In the course of the tournament, Brad Hodge became the second man to get to this milestone.

9 Number of sixes hit by Yuvraj Singh during his innings of 68 for Royal Challengers against Delhi Daredevils in Bangalore. It was an IPL record for the most of sixes hit by a batsman who has scored only one four in his innings. The number is also significant because this is the first time any team had an overall season run-rate in excess of nine - Kings XI had an overall run-rate of 9.09.

10 Number of consecutive 40+ scores Robin Uthappa made this season. He had eleven, the most for any batsman in a single IPL season. The previous record was nine - jointly held by Matthew Hayden and Michael Hussey.

11 The IPL record for the most consecutive losses is currently held by Pune Warriors. However, this record may shift hands if Daredevils' wretched streak of nine consecutive losses this IPL carries over to the next year.

Bishen Jeswant is a stats sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. He tweets here.