India in New Zealand 2013-14 January 10, 2014

Sony Six bags New Zealand-India rights

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sony Six has secured the exclusive broadcast rights for India's tour of New Zealand, which is scheduled from January 19 to February 18. The tour consists of five ODIs, followed by a two-match Test series.

"We are delighted to partner [with] New Zealand Cricket as the official broadcaster to this series," NP Singh, the CEO of Multi Screen Media, which owns Sony Six, was quoted as saying in several newspaper reports.

Sony has been the host broadcaster of the IPL since its inception in 2008, having rights to the tournament till 2017. It also has the rights to show the ongoing series in the UAE between Pakistan and Sri Lanka. NEO Sports Broadcast Pvt Ltd was the original broadcaster for international matches in New Zealand, but stopped coverage of the recent West Indies tour of New Zealand after the 3rd ODI in Queenstown.

NEO Sports had signed a deal last year guaranteeing it exclusive broadcast rights across Asia, excluding West Asia, for both domestic and international cricket tournaments to be played in New Zealand till 2020.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on January 17, 2014, 16:45 GMT

    who will telecast for audience in Pakistan

  • Rohit on January 17, 2014, 13:50 GMT

    Willow will telecast the India NZ tour..

  • Rohit on January 16, 2014, 22:50 GMT

    Yes, There is an app for ESPN3 on Roku.

  • san on January 15, 2014, 16:47 GMT


    Sorry, I was quoting the USA scenario...Most of them time there were not much options and the official one usually is very pricy and per package.. and then you needed to have Dish and Super dish before you can by the package...

    Back in the days in India, cricket used to be mostly telecast on star sports, EPSN and occassionally on Sony setmax.. and usually the cable package used to include most of these channels.... Not sure of how the recent digitization and setup box scenario has changed it in India.

    I am sure all the sports channels will try to out-bid each other. Hopefully they can still find a solution to share the rights with other channels for a %fee, so that every one wins....

  • san on January 15, 2014, 16:37 GMT

    Yes I have been a subscriber since 2010... and occassionally drop out when there is no IND cricket for a few months...

    But there is some series that is not covered on have to run around to find it...

    As long as it is available on some website, i guess we are all good...

  • Dummy4 on January 15, 2014, 14:35 GMT

    @bhushanB For US audience these days almost all cricket series are available. Either the series will be on ESPN3 (it has an app for Android and apple devices), or ESPN3 is free for subscribers of cable channels such as comcast, at&t etc. Willow is $14.99 per month. So all you need is the willow subscription and you are all set, because one or the other will carry the series. And this includes all series, not just involving India.

  • Himanshu on January 15, 2014, 14:27 GMT

    Neo Prime/Sports is a channel on the decline. On the other hand, Sony Six is slowly but surely rising. With Sony Six quickly picking up top sporting properties in the market (the latest one of them being the 2014 and 2018 FIFA World Cup), they need more than 2 channels. They should buy the two Neo channels and convert them into Sony Six channels and directly compete with Star Sports.

  • Dummy4 on January 15, 2014, 11:01 GMT

    Sony is better than Neo.. Although I hate to see the filmy stuffs on Sony.. Neo used to reduce the screen size and put ad frames in the sides Or in the main screen itself by the side of the bowler while he is running up to bowl Right after some one got out, they won't wait for a second to show any replay They will come back from ads only while the 1st ball is about to bowled or sometimes after it is bowled.. Irritating guys..

  • Sasaank on January 15, 2014, 8:04 GMT

    @bhushanB Boss i am talking about indian audience..u seem to be quoting the charges in in india since last 2 yrs.indian series is telecast in different channel for each different series due to which we have to pot for all sports channels

  • Cricker on January 15, 2014, 5:44 GMT

    Hi Kiwis, please prepare the GHOSTLY Tracks that we saw in 2002 Series and present India Whitewash to India in TEST SERIES. We true fans of cricket from India are least bothered about ODIs/T20s.

  • No featured comments at the moment.