New Zealand's tour of South Africa September 26, 2005

Chris Cairns misses out

Cricinfo staff

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced the one-day international squad for next month's tour to South Africa, with Chris Cairns the prominent omission. According to a media release, Cairns was not selected due to issues with his fitness.

John Bracewell, coach of New Zealand, said: "I have met with Chris to discuss his non-selection and what is required for him to play his way back into the side. He is focused on playing in the World Cup and will have plenty of opportunity to return to form and full match fitness over the domestic season. He will be considered for a return to international cricket later in the summer. James Franklin has been brought into the team to replace Chris. We felt we had enough batting options, but needed an additional bowling option".

Speaking on the inclusion of Jeetan Patel, Bracewell said: "Patel showed good progress in his first tour in Zimbabwe. He provides a second spin bowling option and is good in the field. He is a long-term investment and deserves to be retained for a second tour."

He added that the team would tour with 15 players as "we need an extra option to make the best use of the new substitute rules". According to Bracewell, "Franklin, James Marshall and Patel will play out the remainder of the one-day section of the A series in Sri Lanka. Their replacements for the four-day matches will be announced tomorrow."

New Zealand ODI squad
1 Stephen Fleming (Capt) 2 Daniel Vettori (Vice Capt) 3 Andre Adams 4 Nathan Astle 5 Shane Bond 6 James Franklin 7 Hamish Marshall 8 James Marshall 9 Brendon McCullum 10 Craig McMillan 11 Kyle Mills 12 Jacob Oram 13 Jeetan Patel 14 Scott Styris 15 Lou Vincent.