September 21, 2002

PCB announces Test squad for Australia series

Pakistan Cricket Board on Saturday announced 16 players for Pakistan vs Australia three-test home series to be played at Colombo and Sharjah.

Following is the squad of 16 players:

1. Waqar Younis (Captain)
2. Younis Khan (Vice-captain)
3. Shoaib Akhtar
4. Imran Farhat
5. Misbah-ul-Haq
6. Faisal Iqbal
7. Danish Kaneria
8. Rashid Latif (wicket-keeper)
9. Saqlain Mushtaq
10. Naved-ul-Hasan
11. Imran Nazir
12. Hasan Raza
13. Abdul Razzaq
14. Mohammad Sami
15. Taufeeq Umar
16. Mohammad Zahid

Mohammad Zahid will proceed to Colombo for the first Test after his fitness is assessed in the four-day match against Sri Lanla 'A' at Multan, starting September 23.

Khalid Butt
Media Manager
21 September 2002