Sri Lanka Cricket Inter-Provincial Twenty20 July 30, 2011

Ruhuna, Wayamba advance to final

ESPNcricinfo staff

Ruhuna advanced to the final of the Sri Lanka Inter-Provincial Twenty20 tournament, beating Kandurata by seven runs at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Asked to bat, Ruhuna's batsmen put in a collective effort, with useful 20s from Dinesh Chandimal, TM Sampath, Janaka Gunaratne and Chinthaka Perera. Perera's was the quickest, his 21 coming off 10 balls and boosting Ruhuna to 155 for 8. Kandurata faltered in their chase, struggling at 29 for 4. But Tharanga Paranavitana launched a fighting recovery with a 33-ball 46 and Jehan Mubarak made a steady 28 to give Kandurata hope. But left-arm seamer Chanaka Welegedara cut through the lower order to pick up three wickets and help Ruhuna edge the semi-final.

The first semi-final between Basnahira and Wayamba at the Premadasa Stadium was decided by a coin toss, owing to persistent rain and the difficulty in accommodating a bowl-out to decide the finalist. Wayamba went through to the final after winning the toss. The winner of the final will take part in the qualifier stage of the Champions League to be held in India later in the year.