March 16, 2003

Graeme Smith to lead South Africa in Sharjah and Bangladesh

Graeme Smith, the 22 year-old Western Province left hander, will captain the South African national cricket squad on tours to Sharjah and Bangladesh later this month. Smith becomes the seventh player to captain South Africa since 1991.

The squad, announced in Cape Town today by UCBSA CEO Gerald Majola, sees several changes to the one that took part in the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Recalled to the senior squad are Western Province left arm spinner Paul Adams, his provincial teammates, left arm seamer Charl Willoughby and right arm seamer Allan Dawson, as well as Northern Titans batsmen Jacques Rudolph and Neil McKenzie.

Two players, Allan Donald and Jonty Rhodes have retired from all International cricket, whilst Gary Kirsten has retired from One Day International cricket.

SA Squad to Tour Sharjah and Bangladesh.

Graeme Smith Captain Western Province
Paul Adams           Western Province
Mark Boucher         Border
Allan Dawson         Western Province
Boeta Dippenaar      Free State
Herschelle Gibbs     Western Province
Andrew Hall          Easterns
Jacques Kallis       Western Province
Neil McKenzie        Northerns
Makhaya Ntini        Border
Robin Peterson       Eastern Province
Shaun Pollock        KwaZulu-Natal
Jacques Rudolph      Northerns
Charl Willoughby     Western Province

Ashwell Prince will replace Boeta Dippenaar for the two Test matches in Bangladesh.

The squad leaves for Sharjah on 28th March to take part in the CBFS Sharjah Cup, before traveling to Bangladesh where they will play in a Triangular ODI tournament.

The National selectors also named a 15-man South African A squad to tour Australia in April.

The squad will be led by Northern Titans all-rounder Gerald Dros.

South Africa A Squad to tour Australia

Gerald Dros Captain   Northerns
Ahmed Amla            KwaZulu-Natal
Adam Bacher           Gauteng
Nicky Boje            Free State
Albie Morkel          Easterns
Andre Nel             Easterns
Justin Ontong         Boland
Dewald Pretorius      Free State
Ashwell Prince        Western Province
Roger Telemachus      Western Province
Thami Tsolekile       Western Province
Charl Langeveldt      Boland
Martin van Jaarsveld  Northerns
Morne van Wyk         Free State
Quinton Friend        Western Province

The SA A squad will depart for Australia on the 30th of March. They will play six limited over matches and two three-day matches against Australia A.